SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                           Thursday, January 28, 1999 
                                    9:00 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Thursday, January 28, 1999 in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                    None 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Royce West 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         The Chair laid out proposed committee rules previously  
         distributed to members of the Committee.  Senator Truan moved  
         to adopt the committee rules.  There being no objection, it  
         was so ordered. 
         The chair recognized the following witnesses  to provide  
         testimony regarding Legislative Budget Board (LBB)  
         Public Utility Commission 
              Cassandra Burke, LBB 
              Judy Walsh, Commissioner 
              Lane Lanford, Executive Director 
         Public Utility Counsel 
              Cassandra Burke, LBB 
              Suzi McClellan, Director 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Brenda Sevier, Business Manager 
         Governor's Proposed Budget 
         The Chair recognized the following to provide testimony on the  
         Governor's Proposed Budget: 
              Albert Hawkins, Director of Budget and Planning  
              Wayne Roberts (Article 1 agencies) 
              Ed Baldwin (Article 1 agencies) 
              Cecile Young (Article 2 agencies) 
              Fred Fordyce (Article 2 agencies) 
              Andres Alcantar (Articles 2 and 7 agencies) 
              Rose Hayden (Article 5) 
              David Reisman (Article 5 agencies) 
              Mike McElleney (Article 5 agencies) 
              Sylvia Alvarez (Article 5 agencies)      
              Katy Bourgeouis (Article 6 agencies) 
              Danette Rich (Article 8 agencies) 
         Health Professions Council 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Bruce A. Levy, M.D., J.D., Chairman 
              Jane McFarland, Administrative Officer 
         Board of Medical Examiners 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Bruce A. Levy, M.D., J.D., Executive Director 
         Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Gary K. Cain, Executive Director 
              Oliver R. Smith, D.C., Board Member 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Cynthia Palmer, Financial Officer 
              John F. Zavala, Director of Enforcement 
         Board of Dental Examiners 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Dr. Joe David Zayas, Board President 
              Douglas A. Beran, Executive Director 
              Carol McPherson, Director of Administration 
         Board of Nurse Examiners 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Kathy Thomas, Administrator 
              Mark Majek, Director of Administrative Services 
              Kenneth Lowrance,  Board Member 
              Mark J. Hanna, Texas Nurses Association 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              James H. Willmann, Director of Governmental Affairs 
         Board of Vocational Nurse Examiners 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Lillian Brown, Board Chairwoman 
              Mary Strange, Executive Director 
              Linda Rae Kent, Administrative Assistant 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              LaVeta M. Sweeney, Accountant 
         Texas Optometry Board 
              Cassandra Burke, LBB 
              Dr. Carolyn Carman-Merrifield, Board Chairwoman 
              Lois Ewald, Executive Director 
              Mark J. Hanna, Texas Association of Optometrists 
         Board of Pharmacy 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Gay Dodson, Executive Director 
              Oren Peacock, Board President 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Cathy Stella, Director of Administrative Services 
              Jane Bennett, Accountant 
         Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy  
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Mary Daulong, Board Member 
              T. Ware, Board Member 
              John Maline, Executive Director 
         Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners 
              Cassandra Burke, LBB 
              Allen M. Hymans, Executive Director 
              W. Preston Goforth, D.P.M., Board Member 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Janie Alonzo, Staff Services Officer 
         Board of Examiners of Psychologists 
              Heidi Lopez-Cepero, LBB 
              Nelda Smith, Board Member 
              Sherry L. Lee, Executive Director 
         There being no further business, at 4:45 p.m. Senator Ratliff  
         announced that the Committee would stand recessed until 9:00  
         a.m., Monday,  February 1, 1999.  Without objection, it was so  
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk