SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                            Tuesday, February 2, 1999 
                                    9:00 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Tuesday, February 2, 1999 in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                    None 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Royce West 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         The Chair recognized the following to provide testimony on  
         Legislative Budget Board (LBB) recommendations: 
         Aerospace Commission 
              Rick Travis, LBB 
              Walter Cunningham, Board Chairman 
              Thomas L. Moser, Executive Director 
              Shirley Clowers, South Texas Spaceport Initiative 
         Department of  Housing & Community Affairs 
              Mark Wiles, LBB 
              Donald R. Bethel, Board Chairman 
              Daisy A. Stiner, Executive Director 
              Homero Cabello, Jr., Director, Office of Colonias  
              Ruth Cedillo, Director, Community Development Division 
              Eddie Fariss, staff resource 
              David Aldrich, staff resource 
              John Henneberger, TX Low Income Housing Information  
              Jonas Schwartz, United Cerebral Palsy Office of Texas 
              David Mintz, Texas Apartment Association 
              Will Ehrle, Texas Manufactured Housing Association 
              Reymundo Ocanas, Texas Association of Community  
              Development Corporations 
              Ann Denton, The Enterprise Foundation 
              Randy M. Lee, Stewart Title Guaranty Company 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Brent Stewart, Bond Issuer 
              Sam Guzman, staff resource 
              Ash Hamid, Sunset Commission 
         Lottery Commission 
              Patsy Henry, LBB 
              Harriet Miers, Board Chair 
              Linda Cloud, Executive Director 
              Billy Atkins, Director, Charitable Bingo Operations 
              Frank N. Vito, State Auditor's Office 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Anthony Sadberry, Commissioner 
              C. Tom Clowe, Jr. 
         Department of Transportation 
              Mike Leo, LBB 
              David M. Laney, Board Chairman 
              Charles W. "Wes" Heald, Executive Director 
              John M. McBeth, Texas Transit Association 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Frank J. Smith, Director, Finance Division 
              James D. Dossett, Director, Business Opportunity Programs 
         Department of Economic Development 
              David Pagan, LBB 
              Mark Langdale, Board Chairman 
              State Representative Bob Hunter, Department of Economic  
              Development, Office of Defense      Affairs and Strategic  
              Planning Commission 
              Patricia Holland-Branch, Commercial Environments 
              Tucker Bridwell, Board Member 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
              Rick Thrasher, Executive Director 
              George Richardson, Board Member 
              Marion Szurek, Board Member 
              Javier Garza, Board Member 
              Walter H. Criner, Computer Design/Services and Sales 
              Randy Sweeten, staff resource 
              Henry E. Sauvignet, International Director 
              David Teel, Deputy Tourism Director 
         There being no further business, at 6:05 p.m.,  Senator Ogden  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed until 9:00 a.m.,  
         Wednesday, February 3, 1999.  Without objection, it was so  
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk