SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                            Monday, February 8, 1999 
                                    9:00 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Monday, February 8, 1999 in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                    None 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Royce West 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         The Chair appointed a subcommittee to consider recommendations  
         of  the Drought Response Advisory Committee Report.  Senator  
         Ogden was appointed Chair, along with Senators Duncan and  
         The Chair recognized witnesses to testify on Legislative  
         Budget Board (LBB) recommendations pertaining to the following  
              Adjutant General's Department 
              Military Facilities Commission 
              Alcoholic Beverage Commission 
              Texas Youth Commission 
              Department of Public Safety 
              Criminal Justice Policy Council 
              River Compact Commissions 
              Office of State-Federal Relations 
         Witnesses testifying and registering on the LBB  
         recommendations are shown on the attached list.   
         There being no further business, at 5:15 p.m. Senator Moncrief  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed until 9:00 a.m.,  
         Tuesday, February 4, 1999.  Without objection, it was so  
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk