SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                          Wednesday, February 24, 1999 
                                    9:00 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Wednesday, February 24, 1999 in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                    Senator Gonzalo  
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Royce West 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         The Chair recognized witnesses to testify on Legislative  
         Budget Board (LBB) recommendations pertaining to the following  
              Department of Agriculture 
              Department of Protective and Regulatory Services 
              Rehabilitation Commission 
              Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
              Texas Healthy Kids Corporation 
         Witnesses testifying and registering on the LBB  
         recommendations are shown on the attached list.   
         The Chair announced that the Committee will begin the markup  
         process on Senate Bill 2 (General Appropriations Bill) on  
         Monday, March 8, 1999 at 9:00 a.m.  In the meantime, the  
         Committee will conduct bill hearings on Monday, March 1st and  
         Thursday, March 4th. 
         There being no further business, at 4:55 p.m. Senator Ratliff  
         announced that the Committee would stand recessed subject to  
         the call of the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk