SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                              Monday, March 1, 1999 
                                    9:30 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Monday, March 1, 1999 in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                    None 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Royce West 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:40 a.m.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         Duncan, Fraser, Ogden and West. 
         The Chair laid out SB 107 and recognized the author, Senator  
         Truan, to explain the bill.   
         Senator Truan sent up a committee substitute; the Chair  
         recognized Senator Truan to explain the difference between the  
         committee substitute and the bill as filed.  Senator Truan  
         moved adoption of the committee substitute, without objection,  
         it was so ordered. 
         Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on  
         the attached list.   
         Senator Truan moved that SB 107 do not pass but that CSSB 107  
         be reported back to the Senate with the recommendation that it  
         do pass and be printed.  The motion carried with a vote of 11  
         ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.   
         At 10:10 a.m. Senator Truan assumed the chair.   
         The Chair laid out SB 174, SB 175, SB 176, SB 177 and SB 178  
         and recognized the author, Senator Ratliff, to explain the  
         bills.  The Chair then recognized Anita D'Souza and John  
         O'Brien of the Legislative Budget Board to brief members on  
         the structure and overall concept of  each bill, and what  
         Article IX of the General Appropriations Bill would look like  
         with or without passage of the bills. 
         Senator Ratliff moved that SB 174, SB 175, SB 176, SB 177 and  
         SB 178 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered. 
         At 10:50 a.m. Senator Ratliff resumed the chair.   
         There being no further business, at 10:50 a.m. Senator Ratliff  
         announced that the Committee would stand in recess, subject to  
         the call of the Chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk