SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
         Subcommittee on the Drought Response Advisory Committee Report 
                             Tuesday, March 2, 1999 
                                    9:00 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Finance Subcommittee on   
         the Drought Response Advisory Committee Report was held on  
         Tuesday, March 2, 1999 in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036,  
         at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Carlos Truan                     
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. There being  
         a quorum present, the Chair reviewed the charge given to the  
         subcommittee, outlined the day's schedule and made opening  
         comments. The Chair then allowed each member to make comments. 
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         The Chair recognized Martin Hubert, Deputy Commissioner of  
         Agriculture, to give members an overview of the Drought  
         Response Advisory Committee Report. Susan Combs, Commissioner  
         of Agriculture, was also recognized to make comments. 
         The Chair then recognized James B. Hull, State Forester and  
         Director of the Texas Forest Service, and Bobby Young,  
         Associate Director of the Texas Forest Service, to provide  
         members with an assessment of the state's risk of wildfire. 
         The Chair recognized the following representatives from state  
         agencies who participated in developing the report to provide  
         additional testimony on the report: 
              Governor's Division of Emergency Management  
                   Tom Millwee, Director 
              Texas Agricultural Extension Service 
                   Dr. Travis Miller, Professor & Extension Specialist 
              Texas Food & Fibers Commission 
                   Bob Avant, Executive Director 
              Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission 
                   John Hofmann, Executive Assistant to Commissioner  
              Texas Parks & Wildlife Department 
                   Cindy Loeffler, Water Resources Team Leader 
              Texas State Soil & Water Conservation Board 
                   Bob Buckley, Executive Director 
              Texas Water Development Board 
                   Carolyn Brittin, Director of Special Projects 
                   Craig Pedersen, Executive Administrator 
         Senator Ogden asked the invited panel of producers to come  
         forward. The following representatives of various agricultural  
         commodities provided oral testimony: 
              Paul Heller, citrus  
              Bill Kubecka, grain sorghum 
              Bill Powers, Texas Farm Bureau 
              Steve Verett, cotton 
              Charles Carter, livestock 
              Tony Bennett, timber 
         The following provided additional oral testimony: 
              Doug Schernik, producer 
              Robert Lundgren, producer 
              Billy Carlson, producer 
              William E. Albert, producer & coop manager 
              Randall Bohls, producer 
         The following registered but did not provide oral testimony: 
              Cris Gwinn 
              Dale Shively, Texas Parks & Wildlife 
              Philip Durocker, Texas Parks & Wildlife 
              Jack Burkett, Independent Bankers Association of Texas 
              B. L. Harris, Associate Director, Texas Agricultural  
         Extension Service 
              Bill Dugas, Texas Agricultural Extension Service 
              Ron George, Texas Parks & Wildlife 
              Dr. Jerry L. Cooke, Texas Parks & Wildlife 
              Tom G. Boggus, Texas Forest Service 
              Edwin H. Barron, Texas Forest Service 
              Ron Hufford, Texas Forestry Association 
         Michael F. Thuss, CEO of the San Antonio Water System,   
         provided written testimony to the committee. 
         Senator Ogden asked members to work with staff to develop a  
         list of recommendations for the full Committee. There being no  
         further business, at 3:19 p.m., Senator Ogden announced that  
         the Committee would stand recessed subject to the call of the  
         Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Steve Ogden, Chair 
         Marlene McMichael, Clerk