SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                             Monday, March 22, 1999 
                                    9:00 p.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Monday, March 22, 1999 in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                    None 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Royce West 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         Senators Fraser and Gallegos. 
         The Committee resumed its markup session on Senate Bill 2  
         (General Appropriations Bill) and worked on the following: 
              Alcohol Beverage Commission 
              Criminal Justice Policy Council 
              Department of Criminal Justice 
              Commission Jail Standards 
              Department of Public Safety 
         The Committee adopted specific items included in the  
         Legislative Budget Board (LBB) markup document on each agency.   
         A formal vote will be taken on adopted items at the end of the  
         markup process. 
         Action taken on items not included in the LBB markup  
         documents, included the following: 
         During the markup session on the Department of Criminal  
              Senator Carona moved adoption of a funding item for $1.5  
              million each year to expand the Faith-Based  
              Rehabilitation Programs, staffing needs and new services  
              as determined by the Director of Programs and Services  
              Division.  The motion carried without objection. 
              Senator West moved adoption of a rider to support the  
              Transitional Support Program under the Department of  
              Criminal Justice.  The motion carried without objection. 
         During the markup session on the Department of Public Safety: 
              Senator Gallegos moved adoption of a rider to appropriate  
              funds received from the Department of Transportation  
              through the Federal Incentive Program contingent upon the  
              enactment of SB 114.  Senator  Ratliff asked the LBB to  
              modify the rider language to ensure its  
              constitutionality.  The rider was adopted with the  
              understanding that LBB staff would modify the rider's  
              Senator Ogden moved adoption of a rider addressing  
              appropriations for salaries under the Department of  
              Public Safety.  Senator Ratliff proposed adopting the  
              rider's concept.  Senator Ratliff's proposal was  
              agreeable to the author and the rider was adopted without  
              objection.  Senator Ratliff also suggested that the  
              Committee consider a rider that would require trainees to  
              serve a certain amount of time or repay training expenses  
              if they leave the Department before their required  
              service expires.  Senator Ratliff asked that the matter  
              be brought back before the Committee at a later date. 
         Witnesses called on to answer questions of  the Committee are  
         shown on the attached list. 
         At 12:55 p.m., Senator Ratliff announced that the Committee  
         would stand recessed until 30 minutes after adjournment of the  
         Senate.  Due to action on the Senate floor, the Committee did  
         not reconvene.   
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk