SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
             Interim Subcommittee on ERS & TRS Employee Benefit Issues 
                            Thursday, February 17, 2000 
                                     9:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate  Finance Interim  
         Subcommittee on ERS and TRS Employee Benefit Issues was held on  
         Thursday, February 17, 2000, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Steve Ogden, Chairman           Senator John Carona 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos               
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr.              
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted: 
         The chair made opening remarks and recognized Chairman Bill  
         Ratliff as a visiting member. 
         Invited Testimony 
         The chair recognized the following witnesses to provide  
         testimony on Teacher Retirement System(TRS) benefit issues: 
              Craig Hudgins, representing the Legislative Council with an  
              overview of state law regarding provisions of benefits  
              through the Teacher Retirement System; 
              Stephanie Coates, representing the Legislative Budget Board  
              with an overview of appropriations to TRS regarding health  
              Charles Dunlap, Bill Hickman and Ronnie Jung, representing  
              TRS of Texas with an overview of TRS health insurance  
              programs and budget; 
         Public Testimony 
         The chair recognized the following witnesses to provide public  
         testimony on TRS benefit issues: 
              Mike Lehr, representing the Texas Retired Teachers  
              Eric Hartman, representing the Texas Federation of  
              Jack Kelly, representing the Texas State Teachers  
              Lonnie Hollingsworth, representing the Texas Classroom  
         Teachers Association; and 
              Brock Gregg, representing the Association of the Texas  
         Professional Educators. 
         There being no further business, at 11:40 a.m. Senator Lindsay  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Steve Ogden, Chair 
         Amber Martin, Clerk