1-1           WHEREAS, Throughout the nation, Americans are seeking
 1-2     innovative solutions to improve our public education system, and
 1-3     some of the most successful programs during the past two decades
 1-4     have been those implemented by the Association of Texas
 1-5     Professional Educators (ATPE); and
 1-6           WHEREAS, ATPE has strived to further education as a
 1-7     profession since 1980 by promoting the highest standards and
 1-8     developing training activities to bolster teachers' expertise; and
 1-9           WHEREAS, Formed by a handful of Texas educators, ATPE has
1-10     increased in membership from 18,000 at its inception to more than
1-11     100,000 members today, making it the largest professional
1-12     educator's association in Texas; ATPE has grown and prospered while
1-13     continuing to meet the demanding challenges and expectations of
1-14     educators and of the many children attending school in the Lone
1-15     Star State; and
1-16           WHEREAS, This estimable association has forged partnerships
1-17     with parents, businesses, communities, and the government to
1-18     provide countless services that enable educators and schoolchildren
1-19     to reach their highest potential; and
1-20           WHEREAS, ATPE has benefited greatly from the astute
1-21     leadership of its 2000-2001 ATPE state officers Susie Thrash, Tim
1-22     Fogarty, Sheila Fields, Don Cotten, and Connie Kilday, and ATPE's
1-23     region directors, presidents, and other volunteer officials; and
1-24           WHEREAS, By coordinating efforts to address the serious
 2-1     issues that educators and children confront on a daily basis,
 2-2     members of ATPE have served as a unifying force in improving
 2-3     education, and their initiatives have had a positive impact
 2-4     throughout the entire State of Texas; now, therefore, be it
 2-5           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 77th Texas
 2-6     Legislature hereby recognize January 22, 2001, as Association of
 2-7     Texas Professional Educators Day and that it commend the members of
 2-8     ATPE for the continued enhancement of education in Texas; and, be
 2-9     it further
2-10           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
2-11     prepared for the Association of Texas Professional Educators as an
2-12     expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.
         Laney                   Glaze                    Menendez
         Alexander               Goodman                  Merritt
         Allen                   Goolsby                  Miller
         Averitt                 Gray                     Moreno of Harris
         Bailey                  Green                    Moreno of El Paso
         Berman                  Grusendorf               Morrison
         Bonnen                  Gutierrez                Mowery
         Bosse                   Haggerty                 Naishtat
         Brimer                  Hamric                   Najera
         Brown of Kaufman        Hardcastle               Nixon
         Brown of Brazos         Hartnett                 Noriega
         Burnam                  Hawley                   Oliveira
         Callegari               Heflin                   Olivo
         Capelo                  Hilbert                  Pickett
         Carter                  Hilderbran               Pitts
         Chavez                  Hill                     Puente
         Chisum                  Hinojosa                 Ramsay
         Christian               Hochberg                 Rangel
         Clark                   Hodge                    Reyna of Bexar
         Coleman                 Homer                    Reyna of Dallas
         Cook                    Hope                     Ritter
         Corte                   Hopson                   Sadler
         Counts                  Howard                   Salinas
         Crabb                   Hunter                   Seaman
         Craddick                Hupp                     Shields
         Crownover               Isett                    Smith
         Danburg                 Janek                    Smithee
         Davis of Harris         Jones of Lubbock         Solis
         Davis of Dallas         Jones of Bexar           Solomons
         Delisi                  Jones of Dallas          Swinford
         Denny                   Junell                   Talton
         Deshotel                Keel                     Telford
         Driver                  Keffer                   Thompson
         Dukes                   King of Parker           Tillery
         Dunnam                  King of Uvalde           Truitt
         Dutton                  Kitchen                  Turner of Coleman
         Edwards                 Kolkhorst                Turner of Harris
         Ehrhardt                Krusee                   Uher
         Eiland                  Kuempel                  Uresti
         Elkins                  Lewis of Tarrant         Villarreal
         Ellis                   Lewis of Orange          Walker
         Farabee                 Longoria                 West
         Farrar                  Luna                     Williams
         Flores                  McCall                   Wilson
         Gallego                 McClendon                Wise
         Garcia                  McReynolds               Wohlgemuth
         George                  Madden                   Wolens
         Geren                   Marchant                 Woolley
         Giddings                Martinez Fischer         Yarbrough
                                 Maxey                    Zbranek
                                                   Speaker of the House
               I certify that H.R. No. 73 was adopted by the House on
         January 22, 2001, by a non-record vote.
                                                 Chief Clerk of the House