1-1           WHEREAS, The passing of Jose Luis Rodriguez of Corpus Christi
 1-2     on January 1, 2001, at the age of 73, has brought a great loss to
 1-3     the many friends, relatives, and admirers of this esteemed Tejano
 1-4     musician; and
 1-5           WHEREAS, Born in Cherry Land, Texas, in 1927, Mr. Rodriguez
 1-6     began singing and composing at the age of nine, and during his
 1-7     lifetime this prolific entertainer created more than 1,000 songs
 1-8     and commercial jingles; and
 1-9           WHEREAS, Mr. Rodriguez was best known as the composer of "La
1-10     Del Mono Colorado," which became a gold record in 1966 and earned
1-11     him the nickname "El Mono"; an enduring classic of Tejano music,
1-12     the song has been recorded by such artists as Los Paisanos de
1-13     Chalito Johnson, Julio Iglesias, and La Mafia; and
1-14           WHEREAS, In addition to his songs, Mr. Rodriguez also penned
1-15     numerous advertising jingles, many of which he performed live with
1-16     an accordion on KUNO radio on Sunday mornings; and
1-17           WHEREAS, Mr. Rodriguez served his nation with distinction
1-18     during World War II and also devoted his time and energy to his
1-19     position at the Falstaff Distributing Company and as a supervisor
1-20     with an oil company; and
1-21           WHEREAS, His considerable artistic ability was matched by his
1-22     exceptional generosity, and Mr. Rodriguez often donated proceeds
1-23     from his concerts to help those in need; in recognition of his
1-24     community contributions, April 16, 1988, was officially named "Jose
 2-1     Luis Rodriguez Day" in Corpus Christi by Mayor Betty Turner; and
 2-2           WHEREAS, Mr. Rodriguez was a man of rare talent and
 2-3     compassion who will be deeply missed by those knew him, but his
 2-4     remarkable spirit will live on in the hearts of those whose lives
 2-5     he touched during his time on this earth; now, therefore, be it
 2-6           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 77th Texas
 2-7     Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Jose Luis Rodriguez
 2-8     and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his
 2-9     wife, Guadalupe Rodriguez; to his sons, Santos Ruben, Raul, Roque,
2-10     Jose Luis, and Jorge Rodriguez; to his daughters, Ramona, Raquel,
2-11     and San Juanita Rodriguez, Aurora Nowicki, Christina Rodriguez, and
2-12     Victoria Chavez; to his grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and
2-13     to the many other friends and relatives of this beloved man; and,
2-14     be it further
2-15           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
2-16     prepared for the family and that when the Texas House of
2-17     Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jose Luis
2-18     Rodriguez.
                                                            Moreno of Harris
         Laney                   Goodman                  Merritt
         Alexander               Goolsby                  Miller
         Allen                   Gray                     Moreno of Harris
         Averitt                 Green                    Moreno of El Paso
         Bailey                  Grusendorf               Morrison
         Berman                  Gutierrez                Mowery
         Bonnen                  Haggerty                 Naishtat
         Bosse                   Hamric                   Najera
         Brimer                  Hardcastle               Nixon
         Brown of Kaufman        Hartnett                 Noriega
         Brown of Brazos         Hawley                   Oliveira
         Burnam                  Heflin                   Olivo
         Callegari               Hilbert                  Pickett
         Capelo                  Hilderbran               Pitts
         Carter                  Hill                     Puente
         Chavez                  Hinojosa                 Ramsay
         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Rangel
         Christian               Hodge                    Raymond
         Clark                   Homer                    Reyna of Bexar
         Coleman                 Hope                     Reyna of Dallas
         Cook                    Hopson                   Ritter
         Corte                   Howard                   Sadler
         Counts                  Hunter                   Salinas
         Crabb                   Hupp                     Seaman
         Craddick                Isett                    Shields
         Crownover               Janek                    Smith
         Danburg                 Jones of Lubbock         Smithee
         Davis of Harris         Jones of Bexar           Solis
         Davis of Dallas         Jones of Dallas          Solomons
         Delisi                  Junell                   Swinford
         Denny                   Keel                     Talton
         Deshotel                Keffer                   Telford
         Driver                  King of Parker           Thompson
         Dukes                   King of Uvalde           Tillery
         Dunnam                  Kitchen                  Truitt
         Dutton                  Kolkhorst                Turner of Coleman
         Edwards                 Krusee                   Turner of Harris
         Ehrhardt                Kuempel                  Uher
         Eiland                  Lewis of Tarrant         Uresti
         Elkins                  Lewis of Orange          Villarreal
         Ellis                   Longoria                 Walker
         Farabee                 Luna                     West
         Farrar                  McCall                   Williams
         Flores                  McClendon                Wilson
         Gallego                 McReynolds               Wise
         Garcia                  Madden                   Wohlgemuth
         George                  Marchant                 Wolens
         Geren                   Martinez Fischer         Woolley
         Giddings                Maxey                    Yarbrough
         Glaze                   Menendez                 Zbranek
                                                   Speaker of the House
               I certify that H.R. No. 364 was unanimously adopted by a
         rising vote of the House on March 1, 2001.
                                                 Chief Clerk of the House