1-1           WHEREAS, Our colleague and friend the Honorable Paul C.
 1-2     Moreno of El Paso is celebrating his 70th birthday on April 28,
 1-3     2001, and he has spent almost half of his 70 years rendering
 1-4     immeasurable service to the people of El Paso and to Texans
 1-5     throughout the Lone Star State as a member of this chamber; and
 1-6           WHEREAS, A native of El Paso County, Mr. Moreno joined the
 1-7     United States Marine Corps following high school, and during his
 1-8     six years with the Marines he received numerous awards for service
 1-9     in Korea; he subsequently earned a B.B.A. from Texas Western
1-10     College and a law degree from The University of Texas; and
1-11           WHEREAS, Committed to the beliefs that everyone is entitled
1-12     to sound legal representation and that all voices should be heard,
1-13     he is a cofounder of El Paso Legal Assistance and a founding member
1-14     of the Tejano Democrats; and
1-15           WHEREAS, This highly respected gentleman began his
1-16     legislative career in 1967 as a member of the 60th Legislature; he
1-17     has served during the terms of eight governors and now ranks third
1-18     in seniority among all current members; he also has achieved the
1-19     distinction of holding the longest tenure of anyone elected to a
1-20     state office from El Paso County, as well as the longest tenure of
1-21     any Mexican American in the Texas House of Representatives; and
1-22           WHEREAS, Throughout his career, he has fought courageously
1-23     for such causes as single-member districts, equitable funding for
1-24     poor school districts, and better-funded graduate training at
 2-1     universities along the Texas border; in addition, he has worked to
 2-2     improve teachers' salaries and teacher retirement programs; and
 2-3           WHEREAS, During the 76th Legislature, Representative Moreno
 2-4     was instrumental in obtaining more than $100 million in
 2-5     appropriations for The University of Texas at El Paso and for the
 2-6     Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in El Paso; he also
 2-7     played a vital role in securing two new district courts for El Paso
 2-8     County; and
 2-9           WHEREAS, Representative Moreno's unflagging efforts in behalf
2-10     of his constituents have won him numerous local, state, and
2-11     national awards; appropriately, because of his tireless support of
2-12     education, the El Paso Independent School District in 1996 named an
2-13     elementary school in his honor; and
2-14           WHEREAS, A tenacious advocate for the people of El Paso and
2-15     for all Texans who have been historically underrepresented,
2-16     Mr. Moreno is considered by many people as the "Conscience of the
2-17     House," and it is a privilege and a great pleasure to pay tribute
2-18     to him at this time; now, therefore, be it
2-19           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 77th Texas
2-20     Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Paul C. Moreno on the
2-21     occasion of his 70th birthday and extend to him sincere best wishes
2-22     for a joyous celebration.
         Laney                   Goodman                  Merritt
         Alexander               Goolsby                  Miller
         Allen                   Gray                     Moreno of Harris
         Averitt                 Green                    Morrison
         Bailey                  Grusendorf               Mowery
         Berman                  Gutierrez                Naishtat
         Bonnen                  Haggerty                 Najera
         Bosse                   Hamric                   Nixon
         Brimer                  Hardcastle               Noriega
         Brown of Kaufman        Hartnett                 Oliveira
         Brown of Brazos         Hawley                   Olivo
         Burnam                  Heflin                   Pickett
         Callegari               Hilbert                  Pitts
         Capelo                  Hilderbran               Puente
         Carter                  Hill                     Ramsay
         Chavez                  Hinojosa                 Rangel
         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Raymond
         Christian               Hodge                    Reyna of Bexar
         Clark                   Homer                    Reyna of Dallas
         Coleman                 Hope                     Ritter
         Cook                    Hopson                   Sadler
         Corte                   Howard                   Salinas
         Counts                  Hunter                   Seaman
         Crabb                   Hupp                     Shields
         Craddick                Isett                    Smith
         Crownover               Janek                    Smithee
         Danburg                 Jones of Lubbock         Solis
         Davis of Harris         Jones of Bexar           Solomons
         Davis of Dallas         Jones of Dallas          Swinford
         Delisi                  Junell                   Talton
         Denny                   Keel                     Telford
         Deshotel                Keffer                   Thompson
         Driver                  King of Parker           Tillery
         Dukes                   King of Uvalde           Truitt
         Dunnam                  Kitchen                  Turner of Coleman
         Dutton                  Kolkhorst                Turner of Harris
         Edwards                 Krusee                   Uher
         Ehrhardt                Kuempel                  Uresti
         Eiland                  Lewis of Tarrant         Villarreal
         Elkins                  Lewis of Orange          Walker
         Ellis                   Longoria                 West
         Farabee                 Luna                     Williams
         Farrar                  McCall                   Wilson
         Flores                  McClendon                Wise
         Gallego                 McReynolds               Wohlgemuth
         Garcia                  Madden                   Wolens
         George                  Marchant                 Woolley
         Geren                   Martinez Fischer         Yarbrough
         Giddings                Maxey                    Zbranek
         Glaze                   Menendez
                                                   Speaker of the House
               I certify that H.R. No. 722 was adopted by the House on April
         25, 2001, by a non-record vote.
                                                 Chief Clerk of the House