1-1           WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
 1-2     commend the members of the Texas National Guard's 49th Armored
 1-3     Division for their exemplary service in Bosnia during 2000; and
 1-4           WHEREAS, Following 18 months of intensive training, the 49th
 1-5     deployed to Bosnia and assumed control of Task Force Eagle on March
 1-6     7, 2000; there the Division's soldiers led the safest-ever rotation
 1-7     of peacekeepers, compiling more than 14,000 flight hours and 1.24
 1-8     million road miles without a single injury accident; and
 1-9           WHEREAS, During the 49th's command, more refugees returned to
1-10     their prewar homes than during any other comparable period in the
1-11     history of the more than five-year operation, and 85 square miles
1-12     of mine fields were cleared at a faster rate than ever before;
1-13     moreover, the rival factions of the Entity Armed Forces actually
1-14     cooperated on the construction of bridges, roads, and buildings;
1-15     and
1-16           WHEREAS, Due in large part to the success of the 49th, the
1-17     United States Army has announced that six of the next eight
1-18     Stabilization Force rotations will be led by members of the
1-19     National Guard; and
1-20           WHEREAS, The efforts of the men and women of the 49th Armored
1-21     Division were instrumental in helping thousands of Bosnians rebuild
1-22     their lives and their country, and for their distinguished service
1-23     they are most deserving of legislative recognition at this time;
1-24     now, therefore, be it
 2-1           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 77th Texas
 2-2     Legislature hereby applaud the members of the 49th Armored Division
 2-3     of the Texas National Guard for their impressive peacekeeping
 2-4     efforts in Bosnia; and, be it further
 2-5           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
 2-6     prepared for the members of the 49th Armored Division as an
 2-7     expression of high regard by the Texas  House of Representatives.
         Laney                   Goodman                  Merritt
         Alexander               Goolsby                  Miller
         Allen                   Gray                     Moreno of Harris
         Averitt                 Green                    Moreno of El Paso
         Bailey                  Grusendorf               Morrison
         Berman                  Gutierrez                Mowery
         Bonnen                  Haggerty                 Naishtat
         Bosse                   Hamric                   Najera
         Brimer                  Hardcastle               Nixon
         Brown of Kaufman        Hartnett                 Noriega
         Brown of Brazos         Hawley                   Oliveira
         Burnam                  Heflin                   Olivo
         Callegari               Hilbert                  Pickett
         Capelo                  Hilderbran               Pitts
         Carter                  Hill                     Puente
         Chavez                  Hinojosa                 Ramsay
         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Rangel
         Christian               Hodge                    Raymond
         Clark                   Homer                    Reyna of Bexar
         Coleman                 Hope                     Reyna of Dallas
         Cook                    Hopson                   Ritter
         Corte                   Howard                   Sadler
         Counts                  Hunter                   Salinas
         Crabb                   Hupp                     Seaman
         Craddick                Isett                    Shields
         Crownover               Janek                    Smith
         Danburg                 Jones of Lubbock         Smithee
         Davis of Harris         Jones of Bexar           Solis
         Davis of Dallas         Jones of Dallas          Solomons
         Delisi                  Junell                   Swinford
         Denny                   Keel                     Talton
         Deshotel                Keffer                   Telford
         Driver                  King of Parker           Thompson
         Dukes                   King of Uvalde           Tillery
         Dunnam                  Kitchen                  Truitt
         Dutton                  Kolkhorst                Turner of Coleman
         Edwards                 Krusee                   Turner of Harris
         Ehrhardt                Kuempel                  Uher
         Eiland                  Lewis of Tarrant         Uresti
         Elkins                  Lewis of Orange          Villarreal
         Ellis                   Longoria                 Walker
         Farabee                 Luna                     West
         Farrar                  McCall                   Williams
         Flores                  McClendon                Wilson
         Gallego                 McReynolds               Wise
         Garcia                  Madden                   Wohlgemuth
         George                  Marchant                 Wolens
         Geren                   Martinez Fischer         Woolley
         Giddings                Maxey                    Yarbrough
         Glaze                   Menendez                 Zbranek
                                                   Speaker of the House
               I certify that H.R. No. 816 was adopted by the House on April
         24, 2001, by a non-record vote.
                                                 Chief Clerk of the House