1-1           WHEREAS, Yolanda Acuna Uresti of San Antonio, an outstanding
 1-2     civic leader and the wife of our esteemed colleague, Carlos I.
 1-3     Uresti, has just earned her master's degree in international
 1-4     relations from St. Mary's University, and this is an opportune time
 1-5     to recognize the range of this admirable woman's many achievements;
 1-6     and
 1-7           WHEREAS, Born April 15, 1965, in Texas, Yolanda Uresti
 1-8     attended McCollum High School in San Antonio and received a
 1-9     bachelor's degree in political science from St. Mary's University
1-10     in 1998; and
1-11           WHEREAS, The mother of two sons, Michael and Carlitos, she
1-12     has been active in the boys' schools and in a variety of
1-13     youth-related programs; Yolanda Uresti has served as PTA president
1-14     at Schulze Elementary and Kingsborough Middle schools, as well as
1-15     PTA secretary at McCollum High School; in 1998 she was appointed to
1-16     the Bond Advisory Committee for the Harlandale Independent School
1-17     District (ISD) on San Antonio's Southside; and
1-18           WHEREAS, An active volunteer and former catechism teacher at
1-19     St. Leo's Catholic Church, she has also been a Cub Scout master and
1-20     currently chairs the membership committee for the Boy Scouts Alamo
1-21     Area Council; determined to improve facilities for young people on
1-22     the Southside, she has established a nonprofit organization, the
1-23     San Antonio Window for Youth Foundation, whose first project was to
1-24     construct a playground at an elementary school with public and
 2-1     private donations; and
 2-2           WHEREAS, Respected for her civic commitment and thoughtful
 2-3     judgment, Yolanda Uresti has served on the San Antonio Planning
 2-4     Commission and in other city organizations; in addition, she is the
 2-5     cofounder and president of the Kingsborough Ridge Neighborhood
 2-6     Association, which was instrumental in obtaining $1.4 million in
 2-7     infrastructure improvements for the Pleasanton Road area; and
 2-8           WHEREAS, In tribute to her extraordinary dedication to the
 2-9     Southside community, Yolanda Uresti was inducted into the
2-10     Harlandale ISD Hall of Fame 2000; and
2-11           WHEREAS, The leadership and energetic resolve exhibited by
2-12     Yolanda Uresti have contributed significantly to the betterment of
2-13     her city, and it is indeed a pleasure to honor her at this time;
2-14     now, therefore, be it
2-15           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 77th Texas
2-16     Legislature hereby congratulate Yolanda Acuna Uresti on the recent
2-17     completion of her master's degree and commend her for her exemplary
2-18     public spirit and dedication; and, be it further
2-19           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
2-20     prepared for Yolanda Uresti as an expression of high regard by the
2-21     Texas House of Representatives.
         Laney                   Goodman                  Merritt
         Alexander               Goolsby                  Miller
         Allen                   Gray                     Moreno of Harris
         Averitt                 Green                    Moreno of El Paso
         Bailey                  Grusendorf               Morrison
         Berman                  Gutierrez                Mowery
         Bonnen                  Haggerty                 Naishtat
         Bosse                   Hamric                   Najera
         Brimer                  Hardcastle               Nixon
         Brown of Kaufman        Hartnett                 Noriega
         Brown of Brazos         Hawley                   Oliveira
         Burnam                  Heflin                   Olivo
         Callegari               Hilbert                  Pickett
         Capelo                  Hilderbran               Pitts
         Carter                  Hill                     Puente
         Chavez                  Hinojosa                 Ramsay
         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Rangel
         Christian               Hodge                    Raymond
         Clark                   Homer                    Reyna of Bexar
         Coleman                 Hope                     Reyna of Dallas
         Cook                    Hopson                   Ritter
         Corte                   Howard                   Sadler
         Counts                  Hunter                   Salinas
         Crabb                   Hupp                     Seaman
         Craddick                Isett                    Shields
         Crownover               Janek                    Smith
         Danburg                 Jones of Lubbock         Smithee
         Davis of Harris         Jones of Bexar           Solis
         Davis of Dallas         Jones of Dallas          Solomons
         Delisi                  Junell                   Swinford
         Denny                   Keel                     Talton
         Deshotel                Keffer                   Telford
         Driver                  King of Parker           Thompson
         Dukes                   King of Uvalde           Tillery
         Dunnam                  Kitchen                  Truitt
         Dutton                  Kolkhorst                Turner of Coleman
         Edwards                 Krusee                   Turner of Harris
         Ehrhardt                Kuempel                  Uher
         Eiland                  Lewis of Tarrant         Uresti
         Elkins                  Lewis of Orange          Villarreal
         Ellis                   Longoria                 Walker
         Farabee                 Luna                     West
         Farrar                  McCall                   Williams
         Flores                  McClendon                Wilson
         Gallego                 McReynolds               Wise
         Garcia                  Madden                   Wohlgemuth
         George                  Marchant                 Wolens
         Geren                   Martinez Fischer         Woolley
         Giddings                Maxey                    Yarbrough
         Glaze                   Menendez                 Zbranek
                                                   Speaker of the House
               I certify that H.R. No. 1219 was adopted by the House on May
         28, 2001, by a non-record vote.
                                                 Chief Clerk of the House