1-1                ****** NEED TWO-PAGE HEADER ******
 1-2                          SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 183
 1-3           WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is always proud
 1-4     to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of our young citizens,
 1-5     and the Leon High School girls volleyball team is truly deserving
 1-6     of recognition; and
 1-7           WHEREAS, Seizing the 2000 Class 2A state title, the Lady
 1-8     Cougars featured a talented group of players who displayed the
 1-9     confidence and poise necessary to bring home the school's seventh
1-10     championship title; and
1-11           WHEREAS, The impressive performance by the Lady Cougars
1-12     is attributable to the outstanding guidance of Coach Billy Evans;
1-13     the nation's second most victorious high school coach, he concluded
1-14     44 years of coaching with a record of 1,079 wins to 181 losses; and
1-15           WHEREAS, Bringing honor to themselves, their school,
1-16     Coach Evans, and assistant coaches Teresa Sitton, Malynda Watson,
1-17     and Mia Lowry are:  Lindsey Thomas, Lindsey Jones, Faith Payne,
1-18     Courtney Foley, Melanie Howard, Jessica Watson, Jordan Helmcamp,
1-19     Nikki Robinson, Lauri Engleman, Jessica Dubois, Lauren Jones,
1-20     Christine Neyland, Ashley Donahue, Stacie Irwin, Brandy Hickman,
 2-1     Shay Coe, and Lisa White; and
 2-2           WHEREAS, The Leon Lady Cougars are to be commended for
 2-3     their superb season, and their exceptional achievements truly
 2-4     merit special praise and recognition; now, therefore, be it
 2-5           RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
 2-6     77th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Leon High School girls
 2-7     volleyball team on its Class 2A State Championship and extend best
 2-8     wishes for the future; and, be it further
 2-9           RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
2-10     the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.
2-11                                                                   Ogden
2-12                                  ______________________________________
2-13                                          President of the Senate
2-14                                       I hereby certify that the above
2-15                                  Resolution was adopted by the Senate
2-16                                  on February 5, 2001.
2-17                                  ______________________________________
2-18                                          Secretary of the Senate
2-19                                  ______________________________________
2-20                                           Member, Texas Senate