SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                            Wednesday, February 21, 2001 
                                     9:00 a.m. 
                                   Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Education was  
         held on Wednesday, February 21, 2001, in the Senate Chamber at  
         Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator David Cain 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator David Sibley 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Shapiro moved adoption of the minutes from the previous  
         hearing held on February 14, 2001; without objection, it was so  
         The committee then heard invited testimony concerning public  
         school employee health insurance.  The following individuals  
         testified as resource witnesses: 
              Dubravka Romano representing Texas Association of School  
              Charles Dunlap, Ronnie Jung, and Pattie Featherston  
         representing Teacher Retirement  
              John Keel representing Legislative Budget Board 
         At 10:45 a.m. Senator Bivins moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until after adjournment of the Senate; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 1:20 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
         Invited testimony resumed. 
         There being no further business, at 2:05 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Amy Schwartz for Krissy Lilljedahl, Clerk