SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                               Monday, March 26, 2001 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.016 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Education was  
         held on Monday, March 26, 2001, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.016, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     None 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator David Cain 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator David Sibley 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         The Committee convened to hear invited testimony on the issue of  
         public school employee health insurance.  Witness list is  
         Opening remarks by Senator Bivins. 
         Testimony by Senators Ellis and Duncan. 
         Testimony by panel of invited witnesses. 
         At 12:35 p.m. Senator Bivins moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until after adjournment of the Senate; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 3:05 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
         Continued testimony by invited witnesses. 
         There was no action taken on the following posted bills: 
         SB 29 by Zaffirini  
         SB 127 by Staples 
         SB 135 by Carona 
         SB178 by Armbrister 
         SB 273 by Armbrister 
         SB 474 by Bernsen 
         SB 490 by Ellis 
         SJR 19 by Ellis 
         SB 928 by Shapleigh 
         SJR 28 by Shapleigh 
         SB 1021 by Armbrister 
         SB 1317 by Staples 
         There being no further business, at 5:50 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Krissy Lilljedahl, Clerk