SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                               Monday, April 30, 2001 
                           10:30 a.m. or upon adjournment 
                                Senator Bivins' Desk 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Education was  
         held on Monday, April 30, 2001, in the Senator Bivins' Desk 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Leticia Van de  
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator David Cain 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator David Sibley 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Sibley assumed the chair.   
         The chair laid out SB728 and recognized Senator Bivins, in the  
         absence of the author, to explain the bill.  Senator Bivins sent  
         up Committee Amendment 1 and moved adoption; without objection,  
         the amendment was adopted.  Senator Bivins requested unanimous  
         consent to roll the amendments into a committee substitute;  
         without objection, it was so ordered.  Senator Bivins then moved  
         that the committee substitute be adopted; without objection, it  
         was so ordered.  Senator Bivins moved that SB728 do not pass but  
         that CSSB728 be reported back to the Senate with the  
         recommendation that it do pass and be printed.  The motion  
         carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nay, 0 present not  
         voting, and 1 absent.   
         Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         There being no further business, at 12:08 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Krissy Lilljedahl, Clerk