SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                             Wednesday, January 24, 2001 
                                      8:00 a.m. 
                            Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
     Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public  
     hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Wednesday, January  
     24, 2001, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
     MEMBERS PRESENT:                            MEMBERS ABSENT: 
     Senator Rodney Ellis                        Senator Chris Harris 
     Senator Robert Duncan                        
     Senator Mike Jackson                         
     Senator Jon Lindsay                          
     Senator Carlos Truan                         
     Senator John Whitmire                        
     Senator Judith Zaffirini 
     The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.  There being a quorum  
     present, the following business was transacted:  
     The following members arrived after the roll was called:  
     Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
     Senator Troy Fraser 
     Senator Tom Haywood 
     Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
     Senator Steve Ogden   
     The Chair recognized the following witnesses to provide testimony  
     regarding Legislative Budget Board (LBB) recommendations: 
          Texas Department of Criminal Justice 
          Val Shepperd, LBB Budget Analyst 
          Wayne Scott, Executive Director 
              Gave a brief update on the capture, in Colorado, of the escaped  
              prisoners.  Spoke to the 18  exceptional items they are  
              requesting in the proposed budget.  Answered many questions from  
              the committee members.  The members requested additional  
              information from TDCJ. 
          David McNutt, Director, Financial Services 
               Answered questions from committee members. 
               Correctional Managed Health Care 
               Allen Hightower, Executive Director 
                    Gave an overview of the exceptional items being requested  
     in their budget. 
               Allen D. Sapp, Jr., Asst. Director 
                    Answered questions.   
               Dr. Ben  G. Rainmer, Chairman, CMHCC & V.P., Community Relations  
                    Answered questions. 
               Dee Kifourt, Director, Texas Council on Offenders with Mental  
                    Answered question. 
          Public Testimony, TDCJ & Correctional Managed Health Care: 
          Penny Rayfield, Independent Sales Rep, Self   
          Dana J. Hendrick, Director, San Patricio Community Services,  
     Probation Officer, Self 
          Eva DeLuna-Castro, Budget Analyst, Center for Public Policy  
     Priorities (Written testimony) 
          Bree Buchanan, Public Policy Director, Texas Council on Family  
          Bobbi Neyland, Director of Family Violence, Lifeworks 
          Joe Lovelace, Advocacy Chair & volunteer with NAMI (National Alliance  
     for the Mentally Ill) 
          Maurice G. Dutton, Ph.D., NAMI (National Alliance for the Mentally  
          Registering, but not testifying: 
          Cyndie Schmitt, Legislative Liaison, Texas Council of Community MHMR  
     Center, Inc. 
     At 10:46 a.m. Senator Ellis moved that the committee stand recessed until  
     30 minutes after adjournment of the Senate; without objection, it was so  
     At  1:49 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
          Texas Commission on Jail Standards 
          Val Shepperd, LBB Budget Analyst 
          Terry Julian, Executive Director 
              Introduced members in attendance.  Submitted the proposed no  
              growth budget.  Answered questions. 
          H. T. Montgomery, Commissioner  
              Spoke for a salary increase for the Executive Director and to the  
              excellent work done by the commission.    
          Registering, but not testifying: 
          Terry Box, Commission Member 
          Vincent Houston, Budget Officer for Commission 
          Leticia M. Kappel, Accountant, TCJS 
          Public Testimony: 
          Maurice G. Duffon, PhD. 
          Texas Juvenile Probation Commission 
          Cindy Noble, LBB Budget Analyst 
          Vicki Spriggs, Executive Director 
              Introduced board members present and others in attendance to show  
              support of their budget request.  Went through their prepared  
              presentation including exceptional items. 
          Linda Brooke, Director of Education, TJPC 
          Registering, but not testifying: 
          Ashley V. Barrera, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer 
          Mike Cantrell, TJPC Board Member & County Commissioner 
          Mary Craft, TJPC Board Member & Judge 
          Betsy Lake, Vice-Chair 
          Keith H. Kuttler, TJPC Board Member  
          Estela P. Medina, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer, Travis County 
          Tim Mohan, Juvenile Probation Officer 
          Thomas Morris, Juvenile Probation Officer, Midland County 
          William E. (Bill) Miller, TJPC Board Member 
          Ronald Powell, Chief Juvenile Officer, 33rd Judicial Dist. 
          Public Testimony: 
          Mark S. Williams, Chief Probation Officer, Tom Green & 7 other  
          Earl E. Lloyd, Bell County Juvenile Probation Officer 
          Orlando Torres, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer, Aransas, Bee, Live  
     Oak, McMullen & San Patricio   
          Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education 
          Dominic Giarratani, LBB Budget Analyst 
          Jim Dozier, Executive Director 
              Introduced members in attendance.  Spoke to the issues of salary  
              compensation, turnover rate, 
               and other exceptional items.  Answered questions. 
          Joe A. Stivers, Board Member 
              Spoke to the improvement of the Commission in the past 5 years.   
              Training is the key to having excellent law enforcement.  Salary  
              increase for the Executive Director. 
          Lilia Escajeda, Board Member 
               Spoke to the excellence of the commission and her pleasure in  
     serving on the commission. 
          Registering, but not testifying: 
          Edward T. Lane, Chief, Professional Standards and Operations 
          Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
          Tina Beck, LBB Budget Analyst 
          John "Jake" Soteriou, Division Director 
               Spoke to the exceptional items in the proposed budget. Answered  
          Carl D. Wren, Commissioner 
               Spoke to the need of salary increases. 
          Registering, but not testifying: 
          Juan J. Adame, Fire Chief, City of Corpus Christi 
          Ana R. Munoz, Director of Support Services 
          Texas Commission on Private Security 
          Cindy Noble, LBB Budget Analyst 
          Ben C. Nix, Chairman 
          Jerry L. McGlasson, Executive Director 
              Spoke to the proposed, no increase, budget.  Discussed fees.  No  
              exceptions listed but would like the Committee to consider  
              returning some of the funds from GR funds for salary increases,  
              and  additional FTE's.  Answered questions.  
          Registering, but not testifying: 
          George B. Craig, Commissioner 
          Cliff Grumbles, Deputy Director, TCPS 
          Toni Kanetzky, Chief, License Division, TCPS 
          Joan Neuhaus, Commissioner 
          Bonnie Pratt, Chief of Administration, TCPS 
          Michael Samulin, Commissioner 
          Larry Shimek, Chief, Criminal Investigation Division 
     There being no further business, at 4:05 p.m. Senator Ellis moved that the  
     Committee stand recessed until 8:00 a.m., Thursday, January 25, 2001.   
     Without objection, it was so ordered.   
     Senator Rodney Ellis, Chair 
     Myra  J. Schmitt, Clerk