Wednesday, April 25, 2001 
                           1:30 p.m. or upon adjournment 
                                   Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate  
         Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on  
         Redistricting was held on Wednesday, April 25, 2001, in  
         the Senate Chamber at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth                  Senator Kenneth  
         Senator Mike Jackson                    Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator David Cain 
         Senator Rodney Ellis 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 2:45 p.m.   
         There being a quorum present, the following business  
         was transacted:   
         The following members arrived after the roll was  
         Senator Cain. 
         Senator Cain noted that he arrived late to the  
         committee meeting due to a meeting of the Senate  
         Committee on Criminal Justice.   
         Senator Zaffirini moved to adopt the committee minutes  
         from the previous hearing on Wednesday, April 18, 2001.   
         The motion was seconded by Senator Jackson.  There  
         being no objection, the minutes were adopted. 
         The chair encouraged those wishing to testify to  
         complete a witness registration card, stating whom they  
         represent, and if applicable, state which districts,  
         counties, and cities they plan to discuss. 
         The chair clarified comments from the last committee  
         meeting regarding minority-majority districts that must  
         be protected as required by the Voting Rights Act.  In  
         response to Senator Zaffirini's request, the nine  
         minority-majority districts were identified.   
         Senator Sibley and Senator Ellis introduced Dr. Richard  
         L. Engstrom, a research political scientist from the  
         University of New Orleans.  Dr. Engstrom provided  
         testimony and maps about racially polarized voting in  
         Dallas, Tarrant, Harris, and Bexar Counties.  Dr.  
         Engstrom answered questions from committee members.   
         Public testimony on PLAN 01002S and other redistricting  
         topics was taken, and committee members questioned  
         At 4:43 p.m. Senator Zaffirini assumed the chair.  At  
         4:46 p.m. Senator Wentworth resumed the chair.   
         During public testimony, Senator West introduced  
         witnesses from the Dallas area, who testified in  
         support of his redistricting map, PLAN 01034S.   
         At the request of Senator Cain, the chair reviewed Dr.  
         Engstrom's testimony.  The chair also pointed out to  
         attendees that committee members' absences during  
         meetings were due to conflicting Senate committee  
         The chair announced the committee will meet next week  
         on Wednesday, May 2, 2001, in the Senate Chamber at  
         1:30 p.m. or upon adjournment.   
         The chair also stated the Lt. Governor would be  
         scheduling a meeting of the Committee of the Whole on  
         Tuesday, May 1, 2001.  The purpose of the meeting would  
         be to lay out the most current Senate plan and provide  
         another opportunity for senators to suggest changes or  
         additions to the plan.  The meeting would be purely for  
         discussion purposes.  The chair answered questions from  
         committee members regarding their roles in the upcoming  
         meeting and announced his intention to visit again with  
         Lt. Governor Ratliff about how the meeting would be  
         There being no further business, at 6:26 p.m., Senator  
         Zaffirini moved the committee stand in recess, subject  
         to the call of the chair.  The motion was seconded by  
         Senator Cain.  Without objection, the motion passed and  
         the committee recessed, subject to the call of the  
         Senator Jeff Wentworth, Chair 
         Erica Sadlon, Clerk