Wednesday, May 16, 2001 
                           1:30 p.m. or upon adjournment 
                                   Senate Chamber 
            Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
                11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on  
             Redistricting was held on Wednesday, May 16, 2001, in the  
                          Senate Chamber at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth                  Senator Robert Duncan 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 5:07 p.m.  A  
         quorum was not present at any time.  The following business  
         was transacted:   
         The following members arrived after the meeting was called  
         to order: 
         Senator Ellis 
         Senator Zaffirini 
         Senator Cain 
         Senator Armbrister 
         Senator Jackson 
         Senator Shapiro 
         The chair announced the principal purpose of the meeting  
         was to consider testimony about Congressional and State  
         Board of Education district lines.  The chair reminded  
         attendees that May 28, 2001, is the last day of session.   
         If redistricting bills are not passed by that day, it is an  
         option for the Governor to call a special session of the  
         Public testimony was taken on Congressional redistricting,  
         and committee members questioned the witnesses.   
         The chair called on Jon Snare, General Counsel for the  
         Senate Committee on Redistricting, to provide a briefing on  
         recent developments in the Texas redistricting lawsuits.   
         The chair announced the Committee dinner would take place  
         on Monday, May 28, 2001, and he encouraged those invited to  
         There being no further business, at 6:17 p.m., Senator  
         Armbrister moved that the committee recess subject to the  
         call of the chair.  There being no objection, the committee  
         Senator Jeff Wentworth, Chair 
         Erica Sadlon, Clerk