SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS 
                             Thursday, January 25, 2001 
                           1:00 p.m. or upon adjournment 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.012 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations  
         was held on Thursday, January 25, 2001, in the Capitol  
         Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Jane Nelson, Chair              Senator Tom Haywood 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte, Vice Chair     Senator Jeff  
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 11:53 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The Chair introduced the Committee staff. 
         The Chair laid out the committee rules for the 77th Legislative  
         Senator Van de Putte moved adoption of the Committee rules.  The  
         motion carried by unanimous consent. 
         The Chair laid out the name of the nominee for Chair of the  
         State Board of Education. 
         The Chair welcomed Lieutenant Governor Bill Ratliff to the  
         committee hearing and recognized him to introduce the nominee  
         for the Chair of State Board of Education. 
         Lieutenant Governor Bill Ratliff introduced the nominee, Grace  
         Ms. Shore made an opening statement and then responded to  
         questions by the members of the Committee. 
         At 12:44 p.m., Senator Barrientos moved to recommend to the full  
         Senate that Grace Shore be confirmed as Chair of the State Board  
         of Education. 
         Senator Lindsay seconded the motion. 
         The motion carried with a vote of 5 ayes and 0 nays. 
         There being no further business, at 12:46 p.m., the Chair  
         announced that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call  
         of the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered. 
         Senator Jane Nelson, Chair 
         Cheri Huddleston, Clerk