NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

COMMITTEE: Intergovernmental Relations

TIME & DATE:  8:30AM, Tuesday, April 17, 2001

PLACE: E1.028

CHAIR: Senator Frank Madla


SB 378            Gallegos
Relating to the conditions of employment for fire fighters.

SB 382            Gallegos
Relating to the powers and duties of the Texas Commission on Fire

SB 740            Bernsen
Relating to certain diseases or illnesses suffered by a

SB 949            Shapiro
Relating to the applicability of municipal zoning ordinances to
open-enrollment charter schools.

SB 985            Duncan
Relating to authorizing the governing body of a municipality to
enter into a tax abatement agreement with the owner of a leasehold
interest in real property that is located in a reinvestment zone.

SB 986            Duncan
Relating to allowing certain tax abatement agreements to provide
for the recapture of lost ad valorem tax revenue if a property
owner fails to comply with a tax abatement agreement requirement
for creating jobs.

SB 1108            Bernsen
Relating to certain employee benefits for tuberculosis contracted
by a public safety employee.

SB 1315            Staples
Relating to the allocation of revenue from the municipal hotel
occupancy tax.

SB 1344            Barrientos
Relating to certain municipal firefighters and police officers
entitled to additional wages; providing a civil penalty.

SB 1398            Fraser
Relating to the authority of the governing body of a municipality
to change previously adopted zoning regulations.

SB 1480            Madla
Relating to the administration of reinvestment zones for tax
increment finance and ad valorem tax abatement and to ad valorem
tax abatement agreements for property in a reinvestment zone.

SB 1535            Madla
Relating to effective dates for tax abatements.

SB 1544            West, Royce
Relating to local enforcement of certain health and safety statutes
and ordinances.

SB 1564            Duncan
Relating to the funding of emergency medical services by
municipalities with a population of more than 5,000 in counties
with a population of less than 60,000.

SB 1632            Bernsen
Relating to municipalities that are exempt from giving security for
court costs.

SB 1635            Bernsen
Relating to firefighter employee relations in certain political
subdivisions; providing penalties.

SB 1708            Van de Putte
Relating to certain subdivision improvements and the bond
requirements for certain subdivision improvements.

SB 1710            Van de Putte
Relating to deadlines and terms of local tax abatement agreements.

SB 1711            Van de Putte
Relating to allowing municipalities and counties to grant tax
abatement agreements to lessees.

SB 1716            Van de Putte
Relating to the authority of a county to establish public
improvement districts.

SB 1736            Cain
Relating to the waiver of penalties and interest if an error of a
taxing unit or appraisal district results in failure to pay an ad
valorem tax.

SB 1737            Cain
Relating to a property owner's right of access to records and
information used in appraising property for property taxation.

SB 1759            Armbrister
Relating to the issuance and sale of and security and payment for
public securities.

SB 1781            Bivins
Relating to the appointment of a public defender by the
Commissioners Court of Potter County.

SB 1782            Shapiro
Relating to the creation of the Frisco Square Management District;
providing the authority to impose a tax and issue bonds.

SB 1789            Bivins
Relating to the appointment of a public defender by the
Commissioners Court of Randall County.

HB 666            Bailey                   SP: Lindsay
Relating to prohibiting municipal regulation of water and
wastewater facilities in the unincorporated area of certain

HB 1619            Jones, Jesse             SP: Carona
Relating to authorizing county purchasing agents to establish a
county purchasing card program.

Pending Bills:

SB 1780            Lindsay
Relating to a sheriff's appeal to district court of a decision by a
civil service commission.