H.R. No. 16

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Rice University Owls baseball team captured the 2 2003 College World Series title, earning the university its first

3 national team championship; and

WHEREAS, The Owls defeated perennial powerhouse Stanford
14-2 in the deciding game of the series, thanks in part to a clutch
performance by sophomore starting pitcher Philip Humber; the team
finished the season with a remarkable 58-12 record and has all the
makings of a college baseball dynasty; and

WHEREAS, Under the able guidance of head coach Wayne Graham, the Owls demonstrated a commitment to excellence throughout the season; recognition is also due to assistant coaches Mike Taylor, David Pierce, and Zane Curry, as well as director of baseball operations Kim McDougall, assistant director for strength and conditioning Monte Curtis, and athletic trainer David Key; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Sean Hirsch, Matt Emerson, Matt Cavanaugh, Jeff Jorgensen, Drew Skaggs, Chris Kolkhorst, Marcos Ramos, Austin Davis, Lance Pendleton, Paul Janish, Jeff Blackinton, Enrique Cruz, David Aardsma, Matt Moake, Dane Bubela, Justin Farris, Justin Ruchti, Josh Baker, Philip Humber, Matt Ueckert, Craig Stansberry, Colin Matheny, Vincent Sinisi, Jon Gillespie, Wade Townsend, Jeff Niemann, Steven Herce, and Lyndon Duplessis; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary student-athletes can take great pride in their accomplishments during this exceptional season;

H.R. No. 16

- 1 their dedication to teamwork and sportsmanship is truly
- 2 commendable, and the memory of winning a national championship will
- 3 undoubtedly remain with them always; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 5 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Coach Wayne
- 6 Graham and the Rice Owls baseball team on winning the 2003 College
- 7 World Series and extend best wishes to the many individuals who
- 8 contributed to this accomplishment; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.

Hochberg

H.R. No. 16

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Bonnen Gutierrez Naishtat Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Pickett Capelo Hegar Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Chavez Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds

Zedler

Menendez

Gattis

T T	_	7. T	1 /
_	$\boldsymbol{\mathcal{L}}$	NΩ	16

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 16 was adopted by the House on July 18, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House