H.R. No. 43

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, LeAnna Lisette Gutierrez of Edinburg is an 2 outstanding young Texan who truly exemplifies the finest qualities 3 of youth today; and
- WHEREAS, A recent graduate of Edinburg North High School, Ms.
- 5 Gutierrez is a committed scholar who has received numerous honors
- 6 for academic excellence throughout her high school career,
- 7 including recognition as a Texas Scholar, Tech Prep Scholar, and
- 8 Distinguished Achievement Program participant; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Balancing dedication to academic excellence with
- 10 participation in a number of extracurricular activities, Ms.
- 11 Gutierrez was a valued member of her school's varsity track and
- 12 varsity volleyball teams and participated in the Fellowship of
- 13 Christian Athletes, the National Honor Society, and Health
- 14 Occupations Students of America; and
- WHEREAS, Her exemplary success earned Ms. Gutierrez a place
- 16 among the top 10 percent of her graduating class and a full
- 17 four-year scholarship to The University of Texas-Pan American;
- 18 Gustavo and Esmelda Gutierrez take justifiable pride in their
- 19 daughter's many achievements, for she is a role model to her peers
- 20 and fellow Texans and has distinguished herself as a highly
- 21 talented and motivated young woman; and
- WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Pena has justly recognized Ms.
- 23 Gutierrez by passing this resolution in her behalf during the 78th
- legislative session; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 43

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend LeAnna Lisette
- 3 Gutierrez for her many achievements and extend to her best wishes
- 4 for continued success and happiness in all her endeavors; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. Gutierrez as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Pena

TT	$\Gamma$	TAT	11
н	ĸ	No.	4 3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 43 was adopted by the House on July 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House