RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The passing of former state representative and
- 2 Brenham mayor Walter C. Schwartz on July 7, 2003, at the age of 81,
- 3 has brought a great loss to the family, friends, and community of
- 4 this esteemed public servant; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born in Iago on September 6, 1921, Mayor Schwartz
- 6 distinguished himself throughout his lifetime in behalf of his
- 7 fellow citizens, beginning his tenure in public office as a
- 8 two-term state representative serving the constituents of House
- 9 District 21 from 1954 to 1959; a Brenham resident for much of his
- 10 life, he served on the city council from 1962 to 1970 and again from
- 11 1982 to 1984, and he was elected mayor in 1994 and held that post
- 12 until his death; and
- WHEREAS, Mayor Schwartz was passionate about education, and
- 14 he pursued his own studies at Blinn College, The University of Texas
- 15 at Austin, and the University of Houston, earning his master's
- 16 degree from the latter institution; and
- 17 WHEREAS, A World War II veteran, this patriotic American
- 18 served in Japan as a communications specialist with the U.S. Army
- 19 Signal Corps; shortly after the war, on December 21, 1947, he
- 20 married the former Annie Belle Kuehn at St. John's United Church of
- 21 Christ in Burton, and they were blessed with three children and four
- 22 grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, Mayor Schwartz taught at Blinn College for many
- 24 years, beginning in 1948 as a night school teacher for returning

- 1 veterans and serving as dean of students from 1959 to 1984; in 1984
- 2 he was named his alma mater's 11th president, and a decade later he
- 3 became the school's first chancellor, serving in that role for the
- 4 remainder of his life; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mayor Schwartz devoted many hours to serving
- 6 noteworthy charitable and civic organizations, including the
- 7 Washington County Little League, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Boy
- 8 Scouts and Girl Scouts of America, United Way, and March of Dimes;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, Although this remarkable man will be deeply missed
- 11 by those who knew and admired him, his legacy of achievement will
- 12 serve as an enduring reminder of his generosity and integrity, and
- 13 he will undoubtedly be remembered with great affection for many
- 14 years to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 16 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of
- 17 the Honorable Walter C. Schwartz and extend sincere sympathy to the
- 18 members of his family: to his wife, Annie Belle Schwartz; to his
- 19 son, Charles Schwartz, and daughter-in-law, Kay Schwartz; to his
- 20 daughters, Ann Fuelberg and Kay Schwartz, and son-in-law, Scott
- 21 Murphy; to his grandchildren, Ben Fuelberg, Anne Schwartz, Todd
- 22 Murphy, and Cole Murphy; to his sister, Bertha "Mutzy" Fischer; and
- 23 to his many other relatives and friends; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 3 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Walter C.
- 4 Schwartz.

Kolkhorst

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Flores Wohlgemuth McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 69 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on July 15, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House