RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The congregation of First Baptist Church of Belton 2 is celebrating the sesquicentennial of the church's founding on 3 August 2-3, 2003; and WHEREAS, A dinner and worship service led by the Reverend 4 5 Andy Davis are planned for August 2, and guest clergyman Dr. Leroy 6 Kemp will present the sermon at the August 3 morning service; and WHEREAS, Since its beginning, the church has been blessed 7 with the leadership of many fine individuals, including the 8 Reverend Martin Van Buren Smith, a respected leader in the Belton 9 community during the late 1800s; today, Reverend Davis shares his 10 understanding and counsel with those who seek his assistance; and 11 12 WHEREAS, First Baptist Church of Belton, located at 506 North 13 Main, has long been a haven of spiritual renewal in Bell County; 14 among its current missions are a Chinese Language ministry and the Faith, Hope, and Love ministry, which offers support to former 15 prisoners and their families; further, the church sponsored a 16 mission in Morgan's Point Resort, which later developed into the 17 18 Fellowship Baptist Church; and WHEREAS, Over the course of 150 years, the First Baptist 19 Church of Belton has remained a sanctuary of strength, comfort, and 20 21 inspiration, and it is a distinct pleasure to join in celebrating its sesquicentennial of faithful service; now, therefore, be it 22 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Reverend

24

H.R. No. 99

- 1 Andy Davis and the members of the First Baptist Church of Belton on
- 2 the joyous occasion of the church's 150th anniversary and extend to
- 3 them heartfelt wishes for a memorable and fulfilling observance;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Delisi

H.R. No. 99

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 99 was adopted by the House on July 18, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House