By: Mabry H.R. No. 122

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Lorena High School Leopards baseball team won 2 the 2003 UIL Class 3A state championship with a hard-fought 3-2
- 3 victory over defending champion Sinton High School, and it is
- 4 indeed appropriate to pay tribute to all those who contributed to
- 5 this noteworthy accomplishment; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The District 18-3A champion Leopards enjoyed a
- 7 perfect 31-0 season this year that included 13 shut outs, 15 wins by
- 8 the 10-run rule, and 13 newly set team records; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Head coach Greg Blanchard stressed the importance of
- 10 teamwork, sportsmanship, and baseball fundamentals throughout the
- 11 long and challenging season, and he was ably supported in his
- 12 efforts by assistant coaches Steve Dolezel and Larry Havard; and
- WHEREAS, The team greatly benefited from the support of the
- 14 school's students, faculty, and staff, as well as from the
- 15 dedication of principal Randy Blanchard and athletic director Ray
- 16 Biles; and
- WHEREAS, Team members include Cory Scanes, Ed Boyd, Braeden
- 18 Defrees, Andrew McAdams, Logan Walter, Justin Craven, Jake
- 19 Weghorst, Brady Mitchell, Tyson Taylor, Jake Mitchell, Brandon
- 20 Graves, Dusty Krenek, Adam Horning, Jay Cox, Ben Booker, Cliff
- 21 Springston, Josh Blakley, and Josh Niemeyer; and
- 22 WHEREAS, These notable student-athletes demonstrated a
- 23 commitment to excellence both on and off the field, and the
- 24 thrilling memory of winning the state championship will surely

H.R. No. 122

- 1 remain with them for many years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor the Lorena High
- 4 School Leopards baseball team for winning the 2003 UIL Class 3A
- 5 state championship and commend the many individuals who shared in
- 6 this achievement; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.