H.R. No. 135

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Leon and Barbara Lester of Scroggins have celebrated 2 their 50th wedding anniversary, marking a golden milestone in their 3 long and happy union; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

WHEREAS, This loving couple first met at a service of the First Baptist Church of Denver and were joined in marriage on June 7, 1953, at the Foss Memorial Chapel in Colorado; Mr. Lester and the former Barbara Olson share a warm and fulfilling relationship that is an inspiration to all who know them, and they take great pride in their family, which includes four children, Bruce Lester, Ruth Lester Deaton, George Lester, and Paul Lester; and

WHEREAS, Valued citizens of Scroggins, the Lesters are active members of the First Baptist Church of Winnsboro and have donated their time and energy to the Presbyterian Hospital of Winnsboro, where they both volunteer; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Lester retired after 36 years as an electrician with Lone Star Steel and after 38 years in active and reserve duty in the U.S. Air Force, where he had attained the rank of lieutenant colonel; Mrs. Lester, who had been a registered nurse when the two met, has devoted her time and energies to being a mother and homemaker; and

21 WHEREAS, For five decades, Mr. and Mrs. Lester have filled 22 each other's lives with love, and their marriage has been enriched 23 by cherished family memories and many joyful times; now, therefore, 24 be it

H.R. No. 135

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Leon and
- 3 Barbara Lester on their 50th wedding anniversary and extend to them
- 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Lester as an expression of high regard by
- 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Hughes

Н	ח	$N \cap$	125
\neg	ĸ	INI O	1 7 7

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 135 was adopted by the House on July 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House