## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The passing of James Muller "Pete" Peebles, Sr., on

July 20, 2003, at the age of 76, has deeply saddened his family and

3 many friends; and

2

6

10

11

12

13

17

19

20

WHEREAS, A native of Livingston, Mr. Peebles was born on July

5 1, 1927, to John Alvin and Julia James Peebles; over his lifetime,

he became one of the most admired members of his community and

7 worked diligently in behalf of his fellow citizens; and

8 WHEREAS, Mr. Peebles began his remarkable 64-year

9 affiliation with the Livingston Volunteer Fire Department at the

age of 12, when he served as its mascot; later he held the position

of assistant fire chief, and at the time of his passing, he was the

department's chaplain; for his exemplary service as a volunteer

fireman, he received 50-year and 60-year service awards and was

14 named Fireman of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Those who were privileged to enjoy the friendship of

16 Pete Peebles will long remember his caring spirit and his

commitment to his family and his community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of

James Muller "Pete" Peebles, Sr., and extend deep sympathy to the

21 members of his family: to his wife, Dusty Peebles; to his son, James

22 Muller Peebles, Jr., and his wife, Kay; to his sisters, Carlene

23 Sneed, Love Monroe, and Patsy Eppes; and to his other relatives and

a host of friends; and, be it further

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of

3 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of James

4 Muller "Pete" Peebles, Sr.

Ellis

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Telford Dunnam Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 173 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on July 25, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House