SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 3

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Robert W. Gruebel, who, at a special event on July 2, 2003, is finally receiving the Purple Heart for wounds suffered during World War II; and

WHEREAS, The long delay in awarding the Purple Heart occurred because the original documentation for the medal went down with a ship that was sunk during the war; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Gruebel is being honored at a ceremony sponsored by United States Senator John Cornyn's office in conjunction with the unveiling of the Purple Heart postage stamp at the Veterans Affairs hospital in Dallas; the stamp will honor military heroes who died or were injured while protecting their nation's freedoms; and

WHEREAS, Although Dr. Gruebel entered the United States
Navy as a teenager before finishing high school, he later earned
a doctorate in physics and became a professor at Stephen F. Austin
State University; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Gruebel is receiving the Purple Heart for wounds he suffered on October 26, 1942, during the Battle of Santa Cruz off the Solomon Islands; serving as a gunner in a torpedo bomber from the USS Enterprise, he shot down one Zero fighter and assisted in the destruction of a second while en route to attack the Japanese carriers Zuikaku and Shokaku; during the battle, he was wounded by Zero fighters from the Japanese carrier Zuiho; and

S.R. No. 3

WHEREAS, Robert Gruebel fought heroically in other battles in the Pacific during World War II, earning two Presidential Unit Citations, the Distinguished Flying Cross, and the Air Medal with five gold stars; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend

Dr. Robert W. Gruebel for his exemplary courage and patriotism;

and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 1, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate