SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 34

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Rice University Owls, who recently won the national title in baseball at the College World Series; and

WHEREAS, The Owls defeated the Stanford University team 14-2 in the championship game, earning Rice's first national title in a team sport; the Owls scored three runs in the first inning and added a record-tying seven runs in the sixth inning; they won the game by the widest margin in a championship game in the history of the College World Series; and

WHEREAS, The team set a Rice record with a 30-game winning streak early in the season and finished the year with a 58-12 record and a winning percentage of .829, the highest in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The members of the 2003 team are Sean Hirsch, Matt Emerson, Matt Cavanaugh, Jeff Jorgensen, Chris Kolkhorst, Austin Davis, Lance Pendleton, Paul Janish, Jeff Blackinton, Enrique Cruz, David Aardsma, Matt Moake, Dane Bubela, Justin Ruchti, Josh Baker, Philip Humber, Matt Ueckert, Craig Stansberry, Colin Matheny, Vincent Sinisi, Jon Gillespie, Wade Townsend, Jeff Niemann, Steven Herce, and Lyndon Duplessis; the team's head coach is Wayne Graham and the assistant coaches are Mike Taylor, David Pierce, and Zane Curry; also contributing to the team's success are athletic trainer David Key, student athletic trainer Brooke Eitelbach, student manager Greg Mitchell, and director of baseball operations Kim McDougall; and

WHEREAS, Coach Graham has led the Owls for the past 12 years; he inherited a program with a 16-34 overall record in 1991 and under his outstanding leadership, Rice has won seven consecutive Western Athletic Conference titles and has played in nine straight National Collegiate Athletic Association tournaments, culminating in a national championship; Coach Graham has recently been named National Coach of the Year by *Collegiate Baseball*; and

WHEREAS, A first-rate institution, Rice University is noted for its scholarly curriculum, and, at 91 percent, the school is ranked number one in the country in the graduation rate of student athletes; and

WHEREAS, In winning the national title, the Rice Owls and Head Coach Wayne Graham and his staff have brought great honor to themselves, to their school, and to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Rice Owls, Head Coach Wayne Graham, and the assistant coaches and staff on their exceptional season and on winning the national collegiate baseball championship; and, be it further

S.R. No. 34

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 9, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate