SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 49

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Daughters of Mary Help of Christians, an order of Salesian sisters founded by Saint John Bosco and Saint Mary Mazzarello, for their many years of loyal service to the young people of San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, These exceptional women of faith have dedicated themselves to a simple and deep prayer life, a strong community life, and a ministry to neglected young people; the sisters offer these youths a safe, welcoming, and family environment and strive to empower them to develop their personal and communal potential; and

WHEREAS, Sisters Sally Brown, Theresa Sironi, and Lourdes Trevino are celebrating 40 years of service to their vocation, and Sisters Jane Jasso, Theresa Murillo, and Celia Ramirez are celebrating 50 years of service to their vocation; and

WHEREAS, In joyful recognition of the sisters' loving fidelity to their religious calling and their selfless service to their fellowman, a Eucharistic Celebration is being held on July 27, 2003, at the Laura Vicuna Youth Center at the Saint John Bosco School in San Antonio, with the Archbishop Patrick F. Flores presiding; and

San Antonio, with the Archbishop Patrick F. Flores presiding; and WHEREAS, Through their commitment to the life of the spirit and their faithful ministering to many deserving young people, the Daughters of Mary Help of Christians are an inspiration to the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend the Daughters of Mary Help of Christians for their devoted service to many young people and especially congratulate the sisters who are reaching important milestones in their vocation; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Daughters of Mary Help of Christians as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 10, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate