## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 53

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize New Caney Independent School District Superintendent Richard Cowan, who has been named the Region VI Superintendent of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Richard will represent Region VI at the 2003 Texas Association of School Boards/Texas Association of School Administrators Annual Convention in Dallas on September 20, 2003; he will be competing with 17 other regional winners to be named the state's Superintendent of the Year; and

WHEREAS, He will receive a plaque as the regional winner at the Region VI Administrators Conference on October 30, 2003; Region VI serves 15 counties and 63 school districts; and

WHEREAS, The New Caney Independent School District superintendent since 1998, Mr. Cowan oversees nine campuses and more than 6,000 students; under his leadership, the district has had an increase in exemplary ratings for its schools and higher Texas Assessment of Academic Skills scores; he has procured funds for the opening of a new school and for improvements and renovations to existing campuses; and

WHEREAS, He is actively involved in numerous community organizations and currently serves as president of Rotary International of East Montgomery County; and

WHEREAS, A dedicated and resourceful educational and community leader, Richard Cowan has played a major role in the betterment of the New Caney Independent School District, and he deserves recognition for his outstanding leadership and his many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Richard Cowan for his many contributions to the educational system of Texas and extend to him congratulations on his selection as Region VI Superintendent of the Year; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Williams

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 14, 2003.

## Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate