## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 59

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize William C. Garbade on the occasion of his retirement from the Texas Department of Transportation after nearly 40 years of loyal service to the state; and

WHEREAS, The native Texan was born in Shiner and earned a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 1965; he began his employment with the state's transportation department as an engineering laboratory assistant in the Yoakum District's office in Victoria in the summer of 1964; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, Mr. Garbade has served the transportation department in numerous capacities; he has witnessed and played a major role in some of the most monumental improvements in the transportation infrastructure of Central Texas; and

WHEREAS, As director of the maintenance and operations division, Mr. Garbade was responsible for developing policy and implementing procedures for maintaining approximately 74,000 miles of the state highway system; and

WHEREAS, He was named district engineer in Austin in

June of 1987 and had oversight for the planning, design,

construction, operation, and maintenance of the transportation

system in 11 counties in Central Texas, including the construction

of two major freeways in Austin; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary public servant, Mr. Garbade has been an inspiration to those who have had the pleasure of knowing him

S.R. No. 59

and working with him, and his presence at the Texas Department of Transportation will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend
William C. Garbade for his many years of invaluable service to
the state and extend to him best wishes for the retirement years
ahead; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of the high regard of the Texas Senate.

Ogden Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 15, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate