SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 68

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Migrant Council, Incorporated, for its exemplary record in serving the needs of migrant farm worker families; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Migrant Council began in 1969 as a Head Start program sponsored by the Colorado Migrant Council and was a demonstration project to serve the children of mobile farm workers of Texas; the council was officially incorporated in 1971 and has grown into a multiprogram operation supported by the Texas Workforce Commission and the United States Department of Health and Human Services; and

WHEREAS, In addition to working with migrant farm worker families across the state, the council operates in different parts of the country where migrant families work in agriculture, providing them with comprehensive bilingual and bicultural services; and

WHEREAS, Long recognized as a significant force dedicated to improving the lives of countless deserving farm workers, the Texas Migrant Council was named the 2003 Affiliate of the Year by the National Council of La Raza in July of 2003; and

the National Council of La Raza in July of 2003; and
WHEREAS, Through its unwavering commitment to migrant farm
worker families, the Texas Migrant Council has proven itself a
leader in extending vital social services to some of our state's
most vulnerable workers: now, therefore, be it

most vulnerable workers; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend the Texas
Migrant Council for the strong support it has provided to migrant
farm worker families and extend congratulations to the organization
on its most recent accolade from the National Council of La Raza;
and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Texas Migrant Council as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 16, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate