SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 88

In Memory of Amaro Cardona

WHEREAS, The citizens of Uvalde mourn the loss of esteemed community leader and Hispanic activist Amaro Cardona, whose untimely passing on July 6, 2002, profoundly saddened his family, friends and admirers; and

WHEREAS, Born on August 17, 1950, Mr. Cardona began challenging social injustice at an early age; as a high school student in Uvalde, he became involved in a local chapter of the Mexican American Youth Organization; he organized his fellow Hispanic students in Uvalde, encouraged them to take pride in their heritage and led them in a protest against police brutality; and

WHEREAS, Determined to address community and social issues through the political process, Mr. Cardona became a supporter of the Raza Unida Party in the 1970s; and

WHEREAS, Compelled by his desire to serve his fellow citizens and to use his aptitude for finding solutions to community problems, Mr. Cardona became a Uvalde County Commissioner in 1982 and was reelected in 1986 and 2002, taking 51 percent of the vote in a four-way race; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Cardona demonstrated an uncommon determination to fight society's injustices, and he sought to effect positive change through his work for Texas Rural Legal Aid and for the 38th Judicial District Probation Department; and

S.R. No. 88

WHEREAS, His dedication, compassion, cheerful nature and legendary sense of humor earned him the respect and affection of citizens throughout South Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the
life of Amaro Cardona and extend sincere condolences to his sons,

Adrian and Rogelio, other members of his family and his many

friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Amaro Cardona.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 21, 2003, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate