## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 92

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is proud to recognize the San Antonio Spurs, who won the 2003 National Basketball Association championship on June 15, 2003; and

WHEREAS, With an 88-77 victory over the New Jersey Nets in game six of the championship series, the Spurs captured their second national title in five years; and

WHEREAS, The championship caps a record-setting season of outstanding performances by the Spurs, who posted the league's best record in the regular season, tied with the Dallas Mavericks, at 60-22; and

WHEREAS, Forward Tim Duncan was named National Basketball Association Most Valuable Player for the second straight season and took Most Valuable Player honors in the Finals as well; head coach Gregg Popovich won the Red Auerbach Trophy for being named National Basketball Association Coach of the Year for 2002-2003; and retiring center David Robinson ended his illustrious 14-year career with the Spurs on a high note with a second national championship; and

WHEREAS, To celebrate their title, the Spurs held a barge parade along San Antonio's famous Riverwalk; later, 50,000 of their devoted fans joined them at a celebration rally at the Alamodome; and

WHEREAS, Throughout this season the San Antonio Spurs have brought great honor to their city and their state, and all Texans take great pride in their exceptional performance; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 92

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the San Antonio Spurs for winning the 2003 National Basketball Association championship and extend to them best wishes for the years ahead; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini, Wentworth, Madla, Van de Putte

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 22, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate