## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 109

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Willie and Carol Washington on the splendid occasion of their 25th wedding anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Willie Washington and Carol Carter were born and raised in Memphis, Tennessee; they both graduated from Booker T. Washington High School in 1975; Willie joined the United States Air Force and Carol started college in Memphis; although they were miles apart, their love continued to grow, and on August 13, 1978, they were married in Tacoma, Washington; and

WHEREAS, Carol completed her degree in Memphis and rejoined Willie in Tacoma in January of 1979; after a tour of duty in Korea, Willie returned to the states, and he, Carol, and their firstborn child, LaTisha, moved to Del City, Oklahoma; and

WHEREAS, Willie was sent to Japan in 1987, and after their second child, Lotario, was born, the family joined him in Okinawa, where Carol earned her master's degree in educational leadership and started teaching school; after Willie's military retirement in 1995, the family moved to Irving, Texas, and joined the Dallas West Church of Christ; and

WHEREAS, The family and friends of the anniversary couple will join them on August 2, 2003, at the Sheraton Brookhollow in Dallas as they celebrate their years of loyalty and devotion by renewing their vows; and

WHEREAS, The world has changed considerably during the years of their marriage, yet Mr. and Mrs. Washington have cherished traditional family and moral values; this long and happy union is truly an inspiration to us all; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend sincere congratulations to Mr. and Mrs. Willie Washington on their 25th wedding anniversary; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this distinguished couple as a memento of this special day in their lives.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 23, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate