H.R. No. 14 

WHEREAS, The Pasadena Blue 13 All-Stars won the 2003 Pony 13s State Championship with a hard-fought 15-6 comeback win over Baytown, and it is indeed appropriate to congratulate all those who contributed to this noteworthy accomplishment; and WHEREAS, The Blue 13s charged through decisive victories over Orange, Corpus Christi-Northwest, and Fort Worth Tri-City before meeting and defeating Baytown to win the city's first 13s state tournament championship since 1996; and WHEREAS, Manager David Turner ably guided these young ballplayers, schooling them in the importance of teamwork, sportsmanship, and baseball fundamentals, and he was ably supported in his efforts by assistant managers John Ray Harrison and James Baker; and WHEREAS, Team members include Dylan Adamak, Aaron Baker, Dereck Bussa, Logan Gallardo, Jared Gibb, Jerry Gutierrez, Shane Hamaker, Jacob Johnson, Nick Kone, Tim Lingle, Zachary McDaniel, David Morris, Ismael Reyes, Scott Talton, and Austin Turpin; and WHEREAS, Through hard work and dedication, these noteworthy young athletes have achieved excellence in their sport, and the thrilling memory of winning the state championship will surely remain with them for many years to come; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Pasadena Blue 13 All-Stars baseball team for winning the 2003 Pony 13s State Championship and commend the many individuals who shared in this achievement; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives. Talton ______________________________ Speaker of the House I certify that H.R. No. 14 was adopted by the House on August 5, 2003, by a non-record vote. ______________________________ Chief Clerk of the House