H.R. No. 197

WHEREAS, October 14, 2003, marks the 95th anniversary of a significant event in the history of South Texas, the transfer of the Hidalgo County seat from the city of Hidalgo to the city of Edinburg; and WHEREAS, The municipality today known as Hidalgo was originally designated the county seat in 1852, at the time of Hidalgo County's creation; located near the banks of the Rio Grande, the city was subject to frequent flooding, and soon after the turn of the century the leaders of Hidalgo County began their search for a more suitable location to conduct governmental business; their solution was found 16 miles northeast of Hidalgo, at a site within a 50,000-acre spread of mesquite brush land known as Rancho Edinburgo; and WHEREAS, On October 10, 1908, the citizens of the county voted 422 to 90 in favor of moving the courthouse to this new site, which at the time was named Chapin, in honor of one of its original founders; opponents of the move were not to be dissuaded, however, and threatened to seek an injunction; the county leaders responsible for effecting the move, John Closner, tax assessor-collector Joe R. Alamia, commissioner William Sprague, county clerk Andres Chavez, and county attorney Dick Swearingen, forcibly removed the county records the following day, transporting them under armed guard to the new county seat of Chapin, now known as Edinburg; ultimately, the arrival of the records on October 14, 1908, was greeted by county residents with great enthusiasm, and since that day 95 years ago the city of Edinburg has remained the official county seat of Hidalgo County; and WHEREAS, Edinburg was an unincorporated town until a vote for incorporation was approved unanimously on September 8, 1919; the year 2003 marks the 84th anniversary of Edinburg's incorporation; and WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Peña has justly recognized this important event by authoring this resolution in behalf of the citizens of Edinburg during the 78th legislative session; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commemorate the 95th anniversary of Edinburg's designation as the county seat of Hidalgo County. Pena ______________________________ Speaker of the House I certify that H.R. No. 197 was adopted by the House on August 22, 2003, by a non-record vote. ______________________________ Chief Clerk of the House