H.R. No. 2

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize David E. Soileau on the occasion of his retirement from 3 the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) after nearly 23 4 years of loyal service to the state; and

5 WHEREAS, A Louisiana native, Mr. Soileau attended the 6 University of Notre Dame, where he received a bachelor's degree in 7 government, and he went on to earn a law degree from the Louisiana 8 State University Law School; and

9 WHEREAS, This notable state employee began his tenure with 10 the Texas Department of Transportation in the fall of 1980, while 11 working toward his master's of business administration at The 12 University of Texas at Austin; his exceptional performance on the 13 job enabled him to become the sole federal legislative analyst in 14 TxDOT's division of planning and policy in 1988; and

15 WHEREAS, Mr. Soileau has served the transportation department in numerous capacities since becoming manager of federal 16 legislative affairs; he has played an essential role in monumental 17 18 gains in transportation funding, leading the Lone Star State's effort to capture more federal highway dollars by drafting the STEP 19 21 bill, which resulted in an increase of approximately \$700 20 21 million per year in federal highway funds; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary public servant, David Soileau has been an inspiration to all those who have had the pleasure of knowing and working with him, and his presence at the Texas Department of

1

H.R. No. 2

Transportation will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend David Soileau for his many years of invaluable service to the State of Texas and extend to him sincere best wishes for a happy and fulfilling retirement; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

9 Texas House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

H.R. No. 2

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2 was adopted by the House on July 29, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House