H.R. No. 24

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Texas lost a beloved friend, teacher, and state leader on July 25, 2003, with the passing of Roberta Reynolds of Brazoria at the age of 61; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed lady was born in Dallas on May 9, 1942, and grew up in the Rio Grande Valley; she received her bachelor of arts degree from The University of Texas--Pan American and her master of arts degree from Texas Woman's University and, to the delight of her grandmother, became a public school teacher; and

WHEREAS, Always known as a strong, independent thinker, she had, as a five-year-old child, gone alone to the office of the school superintendent to ask for better housing for her father, the local basketball coach; and

WHEREAS, She brought that same direct manner to her teaching career and became an advocate for her profession through her involvement in the Texas Classroom Teachers Association (TCTA); having started a local chapter in the Angleton Independent School District in the 1980s, she worked her way up from district president to regional representative and ultimately became president of the 33,000-member statewide organization in 1996; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Reynolds served the TCTA with distinction, working tirelessly in behalf of educators in Austin and across the state, and she was instrumental in setting policies and changing procedures to benefit the members of her profession; and

24 WHEREAS, A dedicated worker and caring teacher who influenced

H.R. No. 24

- 1 many lives in her more than three decades as an educator, she was
- 2 known for her exceptional organizational skills, compassion,
- 3 intelligence, honesty, and effectiveness; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Respected by her colleagues, admired by her
- 5 thousands of students, and loved by her family and friends, Mrs.
- 6 Reynolds will long be missed and remembered by all those who were
- 7 privileged to know her; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 9 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of
- 10 Roberta Reynolds and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her
- 11 family: to her husband, Phil Reynolds; to her parents, Bob and Ann
- 12 Harbour; to her brother and sister-in-law, Steve and Ann Marie
- 13 Harbour; to her stepchildren, Jeff and Emily Reynolds, Todd
- 14 Reynolds, and Melissa and Doug Layne; to her four grandchildren;
- and to her other relatives and many friends; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 18 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Roberta
- 19 Reynolds.

Bonnen

H.R. No. 24

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

тт	_	7A T -	~ 1
Н	\sim	Nο	///

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 24 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on August 5, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House