RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Lyman Martin Labry has rendered outstanding service 1 2 to the people of Texas in his capacity as an architect for the Texas 3 Historic Courthouse Preservation Program of the Texas Historical Commission (THC); and 4 WHEREAS, Since 1999, when the THC launched its acclaimed 5 6 effort to help restore the state's historic courthouses, Mr. Labry has been assigned as project manager for a dozen sites in North and 7 West Texas; under his supervision, work has been completed on the 8

9 courthouses in Donley, Gray, Llano, Presidio, Shackelford, and 10 Sutton counties, and restoration is currently underway on the

courthouses in Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, and Wheeler counties; planning grants have been completed for the Crosby County and Potter County

courthouses, and another such grant is now being prepared for the

14 Menard County courthouse; and

11

12

13

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, A native of New Orleans, where he was born September 9, 1951, Mr. Labry earned a bachelor's degree in political science from the University of New Orleans in 1974; he went on to graduate from The University of Texas at Austin with both a master of architecture degree and a certificate in historic preservation in 1996; and

WHEREAS, The following year, after working as a design assistant for an Austin architectural firm, Mr. Labry joined the staff of the THC; among the many other duties he handles in his present post are construction administration of the agency's

- 1 Capitol Complex capital improvement projects; and
- WHEREAS, In recent years Mr. Labry has also served as a
- 3 volunteer architectural consultant and underwater archeologist at
- 4 Sadana Island, Egypt, where he produced measured drawings of an
- 5 18th-century Ottoman shipwreck, and as an architectural and
- 6 historic preservation field consultant in Chersonesus, Ukraine,
- 7 where he prepared drawings for the rehabilitation of an
- 8 18th-century monastery building; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The excellence of Mr. Labry's work has won him a
- 10 Mebane Travel Scholarship from The University of Texas for study in
- 11 Mexico and Japan; in addition, courthouse restoration projects
- 12 completed under his supervision have received recognition and
- 13 awards from the American Institute of Architects; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Through his work on Texas historic courthouses,
- 15 Lyman Labry has played an instrumental role in preserving a number
- 16 of those treasured buildings and with them, a vital part of the
- 17 state's architectural heritage; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 19 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Lyman Martin Labry
- 20 for his significant contributions to the courthouse preservation
- 21 program of the Texas Historical Commission and extend to him
- 22 sincere best wishes for a happy birthday and continued success in
- 23 the years ahead; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for Mr. Labry as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 26 House of Representatives.

Stick

H.R. No. 33

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Moreno of Harris Bailey Goolsby Moreno of El Paso Baxter Griggs Grusendorf Berman Morrison Guillen Mowery Bohac Bonnen Gutierrez Naishtat Nixon Branch Haggerty Brown of Kaufman Hamilton Noriega Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Olivo Burnam Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Callegari Paxton Pena Campbell Canales Heflin Phillips Capelo Hegar Pickett Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Chavez Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Hope Coleman Riddle Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Howard Cook of Colorado Rodriguez Corte Rose Hughes Crabb Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Crownover Hupp Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Isett Jones of Lubbock Smithee Dawson Jones of Bexar Solis Jones of Dallas Delisi Solomons Denny Keel Stick Keffer of Dallas Deshotel Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Telford Dunnam Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Eiland Turner Laney Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Villarreal Luna Escobar Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Marchant Wise Farrar Martinez Fischer Flores Wohlgemuth Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler

H.R. No. 33

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 33 was adopted by the House on August 5, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House