## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Gwyn Shea, Texas secretary of state, 2 is retiring from office effective August 4, 2003, to take a post as 3 a senior advisor to Governor Rick Perry, having rendered 4 outstanding service to the people of the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, This esteemed public official assumed the duties of 6 secretary of state in January 2002, following her appointment to the office by Governor Perry; as the state's chief election 7 officer, she has worked with the legislature to ensure that Texas 8 election law is in harmony with the Help America Vote Act, launched 9 a four-prong voter awareness campaign targeting high school 10 students, military personnel, working families, and 11 senior 12 citizens, and successfully overseen several elections, including 13 the November 2002 midterm election; and

14 WHEREAS, In addition, Secretary Shea has assisted the Texas business community by striving to maximize the accessibility and 15 service of the corporations section of the secretary of state's 16 office; moreover, she has led a Texas trade mission to the Canadian 17 provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba and signed memorandums of 18 understanding with both Manitoba and the Socialist Republic of 19 Vietnam; in her capacity as secretary of state, she has been 20 21 involved with Texas-Mexico border affairs, focusing especially on 22 the health and infrastructure needs of colonia residents; and

23 WHEREAS, Before joining the state's executive branch, 24 Secretary Shea served as a member of the Texas House of

1

Representatives from 1982 to 1992 and as a Dallas County constable from 1993 to 2002; while a member of the legislature, she became the first woman to sit on the House Ways and Means Committee and earned widespread recognition for her work with the House Insurance Committee; and

6 WHEREAS, In consequence of her notable legislative service, 7 Ms. Shea was elected president of the National Council of Insurance 8 Legislators and was tapped for many accolades; among the 9 organizations paying tribute to her were the Texas Municipal 10 League, Texas Association of Business, Texas Civil Justice League, 11 and Texas Association of Concerned Tax Payers; and

WHEREAS, Secretary Shea was appointed as a Dallas County constable in 1993 and was reelected to that office in 1994, 1996, and 2000; serving Irving, Coppell, and North Dallas, she succeeded in returning more than \$1 million annually in hot check restitution and postjudgment collections; and

WHEREAS, Governor George W. Bush enlisted Gwyn Shea's expertise in behalf of the state on several occasions, naming her to the Texas Workers' Compensation Insurance Facility in 1995 and selecting her as president of the Texas Healthy Kids Corporation in 1997; and

22 WHEREAS, During the 30 years that Secretary Shea has lived in 23 Dallas County, she has participated in numerous community 24 organizations, serving as director of the Irving Chamber of 25 Commerce, president of that chamber's women's division, and 26 advisory board member of the Irving Infant Intervention Center and 27 Irving CARES; and

2

WHEREAS, With a more relaxed schedule ahead of her after many years in public office, Secretary Shea is looking forward to enjoying family life with her two children and grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Gwyn Shea has served her fellow Texans with the utmost integrity, ability, and devotion for more than two decades, and she is indeed deserving of commendation for her immeasurable contributions to the state; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 9 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby honor Gwyn Shea for her 10 exemplary stewardship as Texas secretary of state and extend to her 11 profound appreciation for her many years of distinguished public 12 service; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for Secretary Shea as an expression of high regard by the 15 Texas House of Representatives.

## Wohlgemuth

3

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 34

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 34 was adopted by the House on August 5, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House