H.R. No. 51

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Jay Nelson is retiring as district engineer in the
Dallas District of the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)
after 30 years of noteworthy service to the state; and

WHEREAS, A native of Hays, Kansas, Mr. Nelson earned a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 1973, and he was certified as a professional engineer four years later; and

8 WHEREAS, He began his tenure with the TxDOT in 1973, when he 9 accepted a position as an engineering assistant in the Dallas 10 District, and over the ensuing years, he worked in the Kaufman Area 11 Office and in the Paris District; he returned to Dallas in 1989 to 12 serve as the deputy district engineer, and he assumed his current 13 post as Dallas District engineer in 1995; and

is 14 WHEREAS, Mr. Nelson active with the Regional 15 Transportation Council and the Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition; he is also a member of the Tau Beta Pi engineering honor society, 16 the Chi Epsilon civil engineering honor society, the University of 17 18 Texas Ex-Students' Association, and the Texas Good Roads Transportation Association; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Mr. Nelson's dedication and expertise have set an 21 outstanding example for all those who have had the pleasure of 22 knowing and working with him, and his presence at the Texas 23 Department of Transportation will be greatly missed; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 51

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Jay Nelson for his 3 many years of invaluable service to the State of Texas and extend to 4 him sincere best wishes for a happy and fulfilling retirement; and, 5 be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Nelson as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 51

H.R. No. 51

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 51 was adopted by the House on August 5, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House