H.R. No. 68

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Forney Independent School District (FISD) board
has been chosen to receive the Region X School Board of the Year
award; and

WHEREAS, In recent years, the FISD school board has fostered district-wide improvements in academic performance, dramatically lowered employee turnover rates, and ably addressed a population boom that brought nearly 1,500 new students into the district; and

8 WHEREAS, Working closely with parents, educational 9 professionals, and other members of the community, this outstanding 10 board has worked to create an educational structure that will 11 provide a solid foundation for Forney schools in the years to come; 12 and

WHEREAS, Officers of the FISD board are Keith Bell, president; David Walker, vice president; and Sandi Fudge, secretary; other board members include James A. Hogan, Jim Jacobs, Becky Dobbs, and Kenneth Cleaver; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to ensuring the highest standards for Forney schools, these individuals are truly deserving of praise for their clear-sighted vision of excellence and their exemplary efforts in behalf of their district; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislative, 2nd Called Session, hereby honor the Forney Independent School District board for being named a Region X School Board of the Year and extend to its members sincere best wishes for

1

H.R. No. 68

1 continued success; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas 4 House of Representatives.

Brown of Kaufman

H.R. No. 68

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 68 was adopted by the House on August 8, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House