H.R. No. 87

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Noe Torres has made a positive difference in the
- 2 lives of many of his fellow Texans, and in light of his
- 3 contributions it is appropriate that he receive special
- 4 commendation; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born November 12, 1944, Mr. Torres is owner and
- 6 publisher of the Delta News, which serves the communities of Monte
- 7 Alto, La Villa, Edcouch, Elsa, Santa Rosa, Progreso, Mercedes, San
- 8 Carlos, Edinburg, Weslaco, La Blanca, and Harlingen, and which has
- 9 the largest distribution of any weekly newspaper in the Rio Grande
- 10 Valley; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Truly dedicated to the common good, Mr. Torres was
- 12 the director of LULAC District 13 in Harlingen and played a vital
- 13 role in organizing the city of Edcouch's 74th anniversary and the
- 14 Delta Proud Project; and
- WHEREAS, This multitalented Texan is also a gifted composer,
- 16 was a disc jockey at KGBT and KIWW, and has appeared in several
- 17 films; and
- WHEREAS, In recognition of his accomplishments he has been
- 19 awarded many well-deserved accolades, including a Distinguished
- 20 Service Award from the Cameron County Commissioners Court, an award
- 21 of merit from Eureka Life Insurance Company of America, and special
- 22 appreciation by the United States Army Recruiting Mission; and
- WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Pena has justly recognized Mr.
- 24 Torres by authoring this resolution in his behalf during the 78th

H.R. No. 87

- 1 legislative session; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Noe Torres for his
- 4 many notable achievements and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 5 continued success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Torres as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Pena

H.R. No. 87

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 87 was adopted by the House on August 13, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House