H.R. No. 103

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On August 29, 2003, after nearly a decade of 2 outstanding service to Stephen F. Austin State University (SFA) in 3 Nacogdoches, Kent Hutchison will embark on a new chapter in his 4 professional life; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Hutchison earned his bachelor of arts degree in 6 journalism from SFA and worked as a legislative director for the 7 Texas House of Representatives before returning to his alma mater, 8 where he is currently completing a master's degree in public 9 administration; and

10 WHEREAS, A member of the university staff since 1994, Mr. 11 Hutchison began his service as a communication officer with the 12 campus police and through the years has held increasingly 13 responsible positions, advancing to the office of admissions and 14 the division of continuing education, which he has served as 15 associate director and director; and

16 WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman is actively involved in his 17 community, serving as a volunteer firefighter, as the assistant 18 governor for Rotary International District 5910, and with the local 19 chamber of commerce; in 2000 he was appointed chairman of the 20 Citizens' Advisory Committee for Rural Subdivisions of Nacogdoches 21 County; and

22 WHEREAS, Kent Hutchison has been an exceptional asset to 23 Stephen F. Austin State University throughout the past nine years, 24 and his presence will surely be missed; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 103

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Kent Hutchison for 3 his notable career with Stephen F. Austin State University and 4 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in all of 5 his endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Hutchison as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

McReynolds

H.R. No. 103

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 103 was adopted by the House on August 13, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House