H.R. No. 144

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On Wednesday, August 6, 2003, Stephen Moore won a 2 gold medal in the decathlon at the Pan-American Games held in the

3 Dominican Republic; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Moore overcame dehydration, a bruised right heel, and lower back pain to amass 7,809 points in the 10-event competition climaxed by his victory in the 1,500 meters to close out

7 the competition; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, He began his track and field career as a 300- and 400-meter hurdler at Borger High School in Borger, Texas; he then joined Abilene Christian University's nationally acclaimed track team in which he was encouraged by the then ACU track coach Wes Kittley to pursue the decathlon; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Moore went on to great achievements at the collegiate level by becoming the NCAA Division II decathlon champion in 1996 in only his sophomore year at ACU; he became the NCAA Division II long jump champion in 1999; as a member of the ACU track and field team he aided in the university's winning seven NCAA Division II National Championships, which included both indoor and outdoor championships; he won the silver medal in the decathlon at the 1999 World University Games; and he recently placed fourth in the decathlon at the United States Outdoor Championships held in June 2003; and

WHEREAS, At the recent Pan-American Games where he reached success, he was one of four former ACU athletes to win a total of six

H.R. No. 144

- 1 medals in the games, in which more than 36 nations participated;
- 2 with his recent achievement Stephen continues to be ranked as one of
- 3 the top 10 decathletes in the United States, an honor he has held
- 4 each of the past four years;
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Moore receives continual encouragement from his
- 6 wife, the former Tiffany Wadley, a 1993 Abilene Cooper High School
- 7 graduate, from his family and friends, from his fellow coaches and
- 8 student-athletes at Wayland Baptist in Plainview, where he is an
- 9 assistant track coach, and from his former teammates and coaches
- 10 from Abilene Christian University, from which he graduated in 2000
- 11 with a bachelor's degree in education; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 13 hereby honor Stephen Moore for his gold medal in the decathlon at
- 14 the Pan-American Games and wish him future success as he trains to
- 15 qualify for the 2004 Summer Olympics being held in Greece; and, be
- 16 it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Mr. Moore as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 19 House of Representatives.

Hunter Laney

H.R. No. 144

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

TT	\Box	TAT	144
Н	R	NΩ	1 44 44

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 144 was adopted by the House on August 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House