H.R. No. 167

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Stephen Magness of Klein Oak High School has emerged as one of the nation's top high school milers, and this talented student athlete has earned a place in the prep school record books by running the 1600-meter race at the Prefontaine Classic in

5 4:01.02, the sixth-fastest prep time ever; and
6 WHEREAS, The Texas state record holder in the 1600 meters

WHEREAS, The Texas state record holder in the 1600 meters, this talented and determined senior demonstrated steady and significant improvement during his four years of high school, training hard during the school year and in the off-season as well; and

WHEREAS, Under the tutelage of longtime Klein Oak coach Gerald Stewart, he won the 2003 Texas state title in the 1600 meters with a time of 4:03; in addition to his individual successes, he made vital contributions to his team by anchoring the 4x800 and 4x1600 relay squads; and

WHEREAS, Stephen Magness has earned the respect and admiration of his teammates and fellow students through his dedication to excellence both on and off the track, and he is a source of great pride to his school and community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby honor Stephen Magness for his exemplary high school track career and congratulate him on his record-setting performances; and, be it further

H.R. No. 167

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mr. Magness as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Riddle

H.R. No. 167

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Chavez Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Telford Dunnam Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

тт	ъ	NT -	1 (7
Η.	. K .	No.	16/

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 167 was adopted by the House on August 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House